Holy Moly, Macaroons (Baking with Beckville report)

golden delicious

I love macaroons.  Upon reflection, I have a surprising number of fond macaroon-related memories.  At least two: the first time I brought Mike home to Chicago, my parents served macaroons from the Mexican bakery in the neighborhood.  These were enormous, decadent, delicious macaroons (I mean, especially so).  Mike and my sister Claire, who had been very polite all evening, duked it out over the last one.  Macaroons bring people together.

A few months later, after a solo visit home, I called Mike to tell him I was back in town (we lived in Milwaukee at the time).  He was happy to hear it.  When I told him I had brought macaroons from that Mexican bakery, his joy increased exponentially: “I love you!” he exclaimed with great feeling.  Lucky for him, this was not the first time he had made such a declaration.

Anyway.  Mike and I both love macaroons, but for some reason, it never occurred to me to make them myself.  Until I got my hands on Beckville’s Yellow Cookbook and found this very easy recipe for Jello Pudding Macaroons:

  • 1 pkg. vanilla pudding
  • 2-2/3 cup Angel Flake coconut
  • 2/3 cup sweetened condensed milk
  • 1/2 tsp. almond extract

Combine and drop on greased and floured baking sheet.  Garnish before baking with nuts, candied fruit or frosting beads.  Bake 325 degrees for 12-15 minutes or until edges are golden brown.  Remove at once and cool on rack.  Use wet spatula for easy removal.

I was delighted to find Angel Flake, the brand of shredded coconut specified in the recipe, at Econofoods (which, in case you are wondering, has a much better selection of “baking needs” than our local Wal-Mart).  They even had a bag with the exact amount of coconut required!

I bought that, plus a bag with more than twice the amount of coconut, because one day we are going to make granola.  I went home, sat Zoe, her Dolly, and her Chickie in the booster seat, and followed the recipe exactly.

Except I left off the garnish (on purpose) and used the giant bag of coconut (by mistake).

Now, I am no macaroon expert, but I think my mistake made these even more delicious!  I love sweetened condensed milk and vanilla pudding mix as much as the next person (okay, probably more than the next ten people), but I think the extra coconut kept those yummy things from overpowering the star of the show, the coconut itself.  So, if you use 5-1/3 cups of coconut instead of 2-2/3, you will not be disappointed.  

Plus, you will have more macaroons.  At least for an hour or two.
6 Comments

Filed under Baking with Beckville

6 responses to “Holy Moly, Macaroons (Baking with Beckville report)

  1. Claire

    yummmm!!! I wish I could try them. clearly, I love macaroons 🙂 i’m sure Mike and I ended up splitting the last one…I’ve conveniently blocked that out.

    Like

  2. Em

    I had no idea macaroons used so few ingredients! YUM! 🙂 🙂 🙂

    I must try to make them!

    Like

    • I know, right? Next time I’m going to try the recipe on the angel flake package, which is slightly more involved (egg whites and flour), but still very simple. This recipe was great–I had them in the oven in less than ten minutes, even with Zoe’s “help”.

      Like

  3. Sarah Fox Sparber

    Those of us who celebrate Passover have a different relationship with the macaroon. It is what we eat when we wish we were eating a proper cookie. Perhaps we can samle the Mexican bakery macaroons when next you are in town?

    Like

    • I actually thought about that as I was making them! One of my other macaroon memories is sitting in that room behind McGhee Theater sophomore year and eating Passover macaroons from a tin. It was that day when we did a bunch of scenes from plays from different time periods. Theatre Day? It had some name like that. Anyway, I was Really Excited about the macaroons, and all the Passover celebrators were . . . not. But the Mexican bakery ones have no air of deprivation about them–we will have to make a stop!

      Like

Leave a Reply

