Thick Pancakes (Baking with Beckville report)

This week I bragged about my new-to-me church cookbook, and gave you lucky readers the chance to choose the first recipe I would make out of that cookbook.  (Read that exciting post here.)  As you can see from the comments, I have three votes so far, one for each choice.  So this time, everyone’s a winner, and I’m going to try to make all three this weekend!

I started with the simplest recipe, which Zoe and I made for breakfast this morning: thick pancakes.  Here are the ingredients:

  • 5 eggs, beaten
  • 2 cups milk
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2 T sugar
  • 1/4 cup flour
I had all the ingredients on hand (I have a two-year-old who has just discovered, “I like eggs!”).  The directions are simple: “Beat together; pour into a 9 x 13 pan–hot and greased generously.  Bake at 375 degrees for 25 minutes.  Cut and serve with syrup.”
Yum, right?  We followed the directions exactly, but after 25 minutes the pancake did not look done.  We let it bake for probably 10 minutes more, and it looked . . . slightly more done.  It looked, in fact, about how you would expect 5 eggs, two cups of milk, and 1/4 of flour to look.
So, it was definitely more eggy than I would expect a pancake to taste, but it was good!  I thought syrup would be gross on the pancake because it looked more like egg bake, but it was pretty tasty.  In my experience, syrup is almost never a bad idea.
Next up: since Mike is nearly recovered from the stomach bug that’s been making the rounds at our house, I think we’ll celebrate with Jello Pudding Macaroons.  As my mother would say, “Festive!”
Leave a comment

Filed under Baking with Beckville

Leave a Reply

