Book Report: Road Trip Reads

Not surprisingly, one of my favorite things about vacation is more time to read.  Also not surprisingly, since Zoe was born there has been less vacation reading time in my life.  During the day she wants to do things like go to the park, take walks, lead me around the house, and have me sit rightthere to watch her play.

Of course, Zoe’s bedtime is earlier than mine, so I still get reading time at night, as well as however many pages I can sneak while we’re watching Wonderpets.  (Sometimes Zoe forbids this practice, and sometimes she tries to read and watch TV at the same time, which is harder for her since she actually does want to see how the Wonder Pets are going to save the penguin / dinosaur / swan / whatever.  Since I am an adult, I know they are going to use teamwork, and singing, and probably their capes and / or the Flyboat.  Spoilers!)

So, I haven’t done a very good job of stockpiling library books for this vacation–and I am really sad that I wasn’t together enough to get this one–but ""I do have a stack of them on hand:

A little ambitious.

In fact, I only brought two of them: Angle of Repose (Penguin Twentieth-Century Classics), my September book club book, and In the Garden of Beasts: Love, Terror, and an American Family in Hitler’s Berlin"", an excellent nonfiction book by the author of Devil in the White City.  I am under deadline on both of these: the first because my book club meets a week from Thursday; the second because it’s already a few days overdue.

As is often the case when I try to force myself to read certain books by only bringing the ones I “must” read, I have done hardly any reading at all so far.  I have mostly read movie reviews and cartoons from Grandma Papa’s old New Yorker magazines.  Hey, I’m on vacation.

What are your favorite vacation reads?

4 Comments

Filed under Book Report

4 responses to “Book Report: Road Trip Reads

  1. Lisa

    Patrick O’Brien’s Aubrey/Maturin series. They are delectable and I allow myself to read them only while away on vacation.

    Like

  2. mandatruchinski

    ooh! I JUST finished The Lacuna. The first chapter was hard but it sucked me in right after that.

    Like

    • Good to know! I used to love Barbara Kingsolver, but I couldn’t get into The Poisonwood Bible and she just sort of dropped off my list after that. I’m looking forward to this one.

      Like

Leave a Reply

