Zoe the Bumblebee

One of the perks of having a small child is that, at least for the first few years, you pretty much get to dress her however you want.  (The child herself is a pretty big perk, too.)

This is especially fun at Halloween.  I am excited for the year (next year, perhaps) that Zoe chooses her own Halloween costume, but I am also worried that she will want to be a butterfly doggy dinosaur princess or Dora-Yo Gabba-platypus or some other tricky thing like that.  (Although, upon ten seconds of reflection, those both sound sort of awesome.)

So this year, we are going for simple, recognizable, and adorable: Zoe the Bumblebee.  The main components of the costume arrived in the mail this week, and Zoe was instantly smitten:

Upside down sunglasses not included and too-small hat to be replaced with antenna headband (a “crown”, according to the bee herself), but you get the idea.  She immediately put it on to watch Yo Gabba Gabba and would be wearing it right now if I let her.

But since I am not interested in handwashing a bee costume before Halloween, she will have to content herself with the antenna crown and its accompanying bow tie and tail.

There’s just something magical about dressing up.  I remember my “old-fashioned girl” costume in second grade, complete with hoop skirt (painstakingly assembled by my non-sewing mother).  Except for maybe my wedding day, I don’t know when I’ve felt more beautiful.

When Zoe looked at herself in the mirror (in every mirror she could find), she grinned and said softly, “I can fly!”

3 Comments

Filed under Your Moment of Zoe

3 responses to “Zoe the Bumblebee

  1. Claire

    adorable. mom was telling that “i can fly” story all weekend by the way 🙂 so cute. wish I could see that little bee in person on halloween!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Dressing Down | Never Done It That Way Before

Leave a Reply

