Dressing Down

My heart sank as Zoe and I got out of the car at the library today.  Getting out of the car in front of us were Snow White, a hippie, and a superhero.  Getting out of the car next to us were Buzz Lightyear and Woody.

“Were they supposed to wear their costumes today?” I asked Buzz and Woody’s mom.

“Well, they could if they wanted to,” she graciously answered.

Zoe noticed (“I’m not wearing my costume!”) but was not upset (“I’ve got my shirt on!” she proudly told the librarian).  I, on the other hand, was crushed.

Seriously, you guys.  I was thisclose to dashing back home and grabbing Zoe’s bumblebee costume.  It’s partly that I love Halloween and dressing up, but mostly it’s that I don’t want my kid to be left out.  And I certainly don’t want my kid to be left out because I missed the wear-your-costume-to-story-hour memo.  (Pro Tip: Never skip story hour right before Halloween.  Apparently.)

Thankfully, those five kids were actually the only ones wearing costumes.  Also thankfully, the other moms and grandmas had clearly not gotten the memo either, so we all felt like bad parents together.

Solidarity, my friends.  That’s what it’s all about.

2 Comments

Filed under Your Moment of Zoe

2 responses to “Dressing Down

  1. Claire

    I’m sure she had a great time and was clearly the smartest and cutest one there!

    Like

Leave a Reply

