Can’t Quite Call Him Herb

Look what I got this week!

A Journey of Grace: The Formation of a Leader and a Church

It’s the autobiography of Herb Chilstrom, the first presiding bishop of the ELCA.  He is also a Litchfield native–in fact, he was baptized at Beckville.  I keep trying to convince people that this is a big deal, but mostly they just shrug and say, “He’s my third cousin.”  (Pro tip: “Prophets are not without honor except in their own country and in their own house.”–Jesus, the ultimate pro tip giver)

Well, Bishop Chilstrom was at the Litchfield Library Thursday (he emailed me about it personally, if you must know), looking very sharp in a gray suit and signing copies of his new book.  And guess what?  “If there’s a profit,” he says the money will go to LSTC for a New Testament chair.  Take that, Other Seminaries!  Not that it’s a contest or anything, but we totally won.

Herb (I’m trying it out) also talked a little about how wonderful it is to have lots of time to read.  He’s not preparing sermons or writing another book; he’s just learning and exploring.  Always learning.  For a church that this week tries to remember it is always reforming, I think this is a good message, too.

3 Comments

Filed under Ministry Matters

3 responses to “Can’t Quite Call Him Herb

  1. AT

    Well, I for one think this is all a big deal, and I’d love to check out his book. I think you should have Herb Day at Beckville – you could have him preach, and if he’s not doing that anymore just ask him to drag out an old one, and phone it in.

    Also, he is my third cousin. Honestly.

    Like

  2. Amy

    I loved the pro tip in this one… and obviously I’m not from litchfield b/c i am so totally and completely impressed and amazed… Awesome. just awesome. so excited for/with you…

    Like

Leave a Reply

