Book Report: Top Ten Books On My TBR List For Winter

Advent is a great time to try something new!  Today, I am linking up with the Broke and the Bookish, a blog that invites book bloggers to share top ten lists on various bookish topics.  I am sometimes a book blogger, and I do love a good list.

So: here are the top ten books on my To Be Read List for Winter!

The Mysterious Affair at Styles.  Winter is a great season for classic mystery novels.  Since I got back into Agatha Christie this fall, I’ve decided to read all her books in chronological order (I’m nerdy like that sometimes).  The Mysterious Affair at Styles is her first.  I’m excited for the debut of Hercule Poirot.

The Secret Adversary.  Dame Agatha’s second novel, of course.  This one introduces crime-solving, wisecracking duo Tommy and Tuppence.  I have tried to like this pair before without much luck.  But this might be their season!  And speaking of people I’ve tried and failed to like . . .

Bleak House.  Winter is also a great season for big fat novels about orphans and inheritances and the English legal system of the 19th century.  I have never been much of a Dickens fan, but I have enjoyed the plays and BBC adaptations I’ve seen of his books, so this is the winter I give him another try.  Just never A Tale of Two Cities again, ever.

Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns).  Mindy Kaling is so funny on The Office.  I’m hoping she’s also hilarious in print.

I’m Not the New Me.  I just read Wendy McClure’s newest book, The Wilder Life, about her childhood (and adult) love for the Little House books.  Wendy, I think we should be friends, and I think I am going to like this memoir, too.

The Long Winter.  Speaking of the Little House books, it’s about time to dig out my set of yellow paperbacks and give this beloved series another read.  The Long Winter will make my complaints about no longer having an attached garage seem even wimpier.

The Snowy Day.  Zoe loves this and other Ezra Jack Keats books.  I’m excited to put this one in Prime Read Aloud Real Estate (Zoe’s bedroom book shelf).

Ready Player One.  “At once wildly original and stuffed with irresistible nostalgia . . . a spectacularly genre-busting, ambitious, and charming debut–part quest novel, part love story, and part virtual space opera,” the inside of the dust jacket proclaims.  We’ll see if I’m cool / nerdy enough to like it!

Science Fair Season.  I am always secretly proud of myself for reading non-fiction books for fun.  This essay collection about kids and their science fair projects looks like a great read.

Ten Little Caterpillars.  I got this for Zoe from a Scholastic book order this fall and have actually managed to save it for Christmas.  (Pro Tip: delayed gratification is not one of my strengths.)  “From the creators of Chicka Chicka Boom Boom”, the cover proudly states.  Bill Martin Jr. and Lois Ehlert are responsible for many of our favorite picture books, so I guess they should be proud.

And that’s ten!  What’s on your To Be Read shelf this winter?

15 Comments

Filed under Book Report

15 responses to “Book Report: Top Ten Books On My TBR List For Winter

  1. I’d love to read Bleak House. I just finished Great Expectations and I liked it.

    Like

    • See, if it turns out that I actually do like Dickens, I will have so many “new” books to read! And since I put it on my blog, I have an added incentive to actually read it . . .

      Thanks for stopping, Ingrid!

      Like

  2. Sally Wilke

    Let me see, on my reading shelf: Reading the Bible from the Margins, What’s Faith Got to Do with It?, Black Power and Black Theology, God of the Oppressed, etc., etc., etc.
    Give me a novel, ANY novel, please!!!!
    Ok, I did read Pajama Dance to my grandson last night. I guess that counts as fun reading.

    Like

    • Oh, Sally. You need “bedtime reading”! Then you just push bedtime earlier and earlier, so you have more time to read your bedtime book. A pro tip from me to you.

      Pajama Dance sounds fun! Zoe and I love Pajama Time–I think it is my favorite Boynton, anyway.

      Like

  3. Hooray on your first TTT list! 🙂 I hear from Jana Midnight in Austenland is well worth the wait! I really want to read one (or more) of Agatha Christie’s books as well!
    -Daisy @ the Broke and the Bookish

    Like

  4. Miss Anderson

    I didn’t do this TTT because I blog about my TBR’s constantly…but you’ve given me a few to consider! I’m really interested in the Mindy Kaling book and Ready Player One (I’ve heard it’s supposed to be amazing). You’ll have to post reviews if you read them!

    Like

    • Thanks for stopping, Miss Anderson! I will definitely read them (or at least try) and post reviews. I like the idea of posting a TBR list–it makes me feel accountable, even if it’s just to the internet generally. I just finished the first Christie book listed and am going to plunge into Bleak House next.

      There, I said it. Now it must happen.

      Like

  5. Oooh, I started doing this meme this week as well. Some great choices here! I love Dickens and read Bleak House in college and loved it. However, I also adored A Tale of Two Cities. Great Expectations, eh, not so much. 🙂

    Like

    • Lists are fun, aren’t they? I think I may finally be ready for Dickens. I hated A Tale of Two Cities when I was a freshman in high school, and had some very angry young feminist reactions to the flat as paper female characters. I like the beginning of Bleak House, but couldn’t get much read with Bob the Builder in the background yesterday . . .

      Like

  6. I adore Dame Agatha Christie, and I’m quite proud of the fact that while everyone was reading Sweet Valley High as a teen, I had Hercule Poirot and Miss Marple for company. Please tell me if Mindy Kaling’s book is any good! 🙂

    Like

    • You should be proud! I was totally reading Sweet Valley High in middle school (which was so much racier than my elementary school fave Sweet Valley Twins), and came late to Poirot and Miss Marple. They are much better company than Elizabeth and Jessica. They would never steal your boyfriend or your favorite earrings (I’m looking at you, younger twin).

      I’m still waiting for Mindy Kaling’s book from the library, but will be sure to blog about it when it arrives (and I read it, of course).

      Thanks for stopping!

      Like

  7. Pingback: Mindy Kaling and Me: Just a Couple of Crazy Latin Scholars | Never Done It That Way Before

  8. Pingback: Because the Internet Is My Accountability Partner | Never Done It That Way Before

Leave a Reply

