Read to Your Bunny: Five Books We Love

Hey there, friends old and new.  Here’s a post I’ve had in the hopper for a while.  It has nothing to do with television, the internet, or yogurt, but I hope you like it anyway.  Thanks for stopping!

At our Fun Family Outing to ShopKo last week, Zoe wanted it all:

“I want the train!”

“I want the princess castle!”

“I want the car!”

“I want the tractor!”

Clearly, she has a thing for vehicles.  (And, apparently, for princess castles.)

Until I became a parent myself, I had no idea how hard it was for my own parents to resist the urge to buy me too many presents.  (For real: This fact has been confirmed by my mother herself.)  I want to buy Zoe stuff all the time!  Money, space, and the fear of spoiling her beyond repair keep me from doing this.

But I never worry about spoiling her with too many books.  (Pro Tip: There is, in fact, no such thing as “too many books”.)  I love, love, love reading to and with my bunny.

"Read to your bunny often. It's twenty minutes of fun . . ."

Zoe does not always have the most discerning taste (her love for Good Night Chicago and Good Night Los Angeles, while affirming of the grandma and aunt who bought them for her, is baffling to me).  But she does love a lot of books that I love, too.  Here are five that neither of us gets tired of reading again and again:

First the Egg by Laura Vaccaro Seeger: This book is gorgeous.  Lovely pictures, surprisingly sturdy die cuts, and spare, simple prose.  “First the egg, then the chicken.  First the seed, then the flower.  First the tadpole, then the frog.”  And, don’t worry, in the end, the chicken comes first.  And then you read it again.  And again, and again, and again . .

Hippos Go Berserk by Sandra Boynton: Zoe loves all the Boynton books we have, but this one is definitely her favorite and almost certainly my favorite, too.  It’s a counting book, so I guess it’s educational, but the highlights in our house are pointing out the helicopter and shouting, “All the hippos go berserk!”  This one very often goes to bed with Zoe, Chicky, Other Chicky, Wags, Foofa, Toodee, and Three Blankies.  (Pro Tip: If your child uses books as comfort objects / lovies, you have succeeded.)

The Giant Jam Sandwich by Janet Burroway and John Vernon Lord: Do you have fond, hazy memories of this one from your own childhood?  I do, and I was not disappointed.  People, this is a book about a town that solves its wasp problem by making, as the title suggests, a giant jam sandwich to trap the four million wasps.  Excellent illustrations of Zoe’s beloved vehicles and rhymes that really rhyme.  (Pro Tip: That last is rarer than you might think.  “Bunny” and “crunchy”, for example, do not actually rhyme, and yet there they are in another one of Zoe’s books acting as though they do.  It is maddening.  Clearly.)

Hand, Hand, Fingers, Thumb by Al Perkins: Speaking of rhymes that really rhyme, check out this delightful book, which falls under the category of What Do You Mean You Didn’t Read This When You Were a Child?  It’s about hands, fingers, and thumbs (as you might guess).  And monkeys!  Monkeys drumming on drums!  Zoe can recite an impressive amount of this one, which we just borrowed form Papa Gary over the weekend.  Dum ditty dum ditty dum dum dum!

Truck Duck by Michael Rex: This one features both animals and vehicles.  It’s a toddler dream come true!  Zoe and I spice up this fun, simple book by adding animal noises.  That’s how I learned that the cod says “swim, swim” and the moose says “moooose”.  Pretty logical, I think.

What are the books that you never get tired of reading?  Or, what are the books that make you weep with boredom / frustration / disgust?  

Reading to this kind of bunny not necessarily recommended.



9 Comments

Filed under Book Report, Your Moment of Zoe

9 responses to “Read to Your Bunny: Five Books We Love

  1. “Money, space, and the fear of spoiling her beyond repair keep me from doing this.”
    Great line! Way to parent!

    Like

  2. I found you through Freshly Pressed & am delighted that I did. I look forward to following your story!

    Like

  3. Awesome post! I am expecting my first and eager to get a library together for her. You are So right that giving a child one more book never counts as spoiling.

    Congrats on being Freshly Pressed!

    Like

    • It is one of the greatest pleasures of parenting, I think! I recommend black and white books for newborns, especially the ones by Peter Linenthal (Look, Look! and Look at the Animals!). Zoe loved them when she was less than a month old, I swear. There was also a fold out one (Black on White and White on Black or something) that we had in her bassinet and then her crib for a long time. It’s a great adventure you’re starting!

      Thanks for stopping!

      Like

  4. Books I dislike that my daughter loves: any of the Dora books; we have waaaay to many of these
    Book we both love: Chicka, Chicka, Boom, Boom
    Thank you for sharing some of your favorites.

    Like

    • Oh, DORA. We are working hard to keep her out of our house as long as possible. I don’t know why she annoys me more than other children’s characters, but she really does. So far she is just on Zoe’s yogurt and pull-ups.
      I was just thinking we should look for the “real” Chicka Chicka Boom Boom–we have the board book Chicka Chicka ABC, but I believe it’s missing some of the story.
      Thanks for stopping!

      Like

  5. We love Good Night New York City here! I haven’t read any of those other books. They might make the library list. We just checked out a bunch of the Pigeon and Knufflebunny books from Mo Willems.

    Like

Leave a Reply

