How to Tell If Your Child Is Ready for Potty Training

Or, wait: how to tell if your child is not ready.

In all fairness, Zoe is perfectly aware that this is a potty seat.  She would just rather stick it on her head and proclaim, “I’m in space.  I’m in space!”

I blame Mouse on the Moon, one of those Usborne look-through books where, as you might guess, Mouse goes to the moon.  I’m not sure if Zoe is wearing a space helmet, or if (spoiler alert) she’s looking in the crater at the moon mice and their cheese.

I’ll have to ask her next time she goes to outer space.

8 Comments

Filed under Your Moment of Zoe

8 responses to “How to Tell If Your Child Is Ready for Potty Training

  1. my little boy thinks his potty chair is an excellent place to store his treasures. but not anything to sit on. or even think about pottying in. sigh. (adding a box of diapers to the grocery list)

    Like

    • At least he’s using it, right? I am excited to stop buying diapers, too, and wish I had not bought pull ups. They are just diapers without velcro, making them a lot more work if your kid doesn’t actually pull them up and down to use the potty. When we have a few days at home I’m going to try cotton training pants.

      And that is probably enough information for anyone not interested in potty training . . .

      Like

  2. Good luck with the potty training. I liked the potty seats that sat on top of the toilet (as you show in your picture) + a footstool. Also, the iPad did wonders for keeping my daughter on the potty long enough to do her business.

    Like

    • Another reason I need an iPad! We have both a little potty and an Elmo potty seat and stool. She seems slightly more interested in the Elmo potty seat, but most interested in the potty treat she gets for sitting on it.

      Like

  3. Jenny Olsztynski

    Love the picture….really good to keep and show to future boyfriends!!

    Like

  4. One of my daughters, who shall remain nameless, was not interested in potty training. I kept waiting for any of the “signs” that were printed on all the diaper packages. She never had a single sign! We still laugh to this day about how if we waited until she had the “signs” we would still be waiting. Potty training isn’t the funnest time as a parent. Good luck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

