Book Report: Top Ten Books I Hope Santa Brings Me

It’s that time again!  That time where I make a book-themed top ten list and link it up with The Broke and the Bookish, who hosts this weekly feature.  Click on over and read their list, plus the lists of many other book bloggers.

I’m pretty sure Santa’s finished his shopping, but just in case, here are some books I’d love to find under the tree:

The Mysteries of Harris Burdick by Chris Van Allsburg: A classic Chris Van Allsburg book that I’m pretty sure I’ve never read!  On my wish list is the “portfolio edition”, which contains loose sheets, the better to share with groups or display singly (says Amazon).  It is gorgeous and guaranteed to inspire your imagination, just as it inspired the writers of book number two . . .

The Chronicles of Harris Burdick: Fourteen Amazing Authors Tell the Tales: Some reviewers don’t like that the short stories inspired by the pictures take away the “fill-in-the-blank” mystery quality of the original, but I would love to know what Kate DiCamillo, Lois Lowry, and Gregory Maguire have to say about them.  Wouldn’t you?

From Stone to Living Word: Letting the Bible Live Again by Debbie Blue: I heard Debbie Blue speak at a preaching conference this fall and she was phenomenal.  I was reminded of her and her books last week when I read her great reflection on the lectionary texts for last Sunday.  Don’t you love the title?  I think this one would help enliven my preaching on these winter Sundays.

The Strategically Small Church: Intimate, Nimble, Authentic, and Effective by Brandon O’Brien: Another pastor recommended this book to me at a youth ministry event this fall.  What an alluring list of adjectives for the small church!  Since I serve two small churches, I would love to learn more about how to tap into the blessings of being small.  (I already know some of the blessings, of course, which is why I’m excited about this book.)

Wishful Thinking: A Seeker’s ABC by Frederick Buechner: From Abraham to Zaccheus, Buechner reflects on figures and theological terms in his own lovely way.  I just looked it up on Amazon to get the title right, and I see it’s part of a trilogy!  I love a series, and so I would also love . . .

Whistling in the Dark: A Doubter’s Dictionary

and

Peculiar Treasures: A Biblical Who’s Who, both by Frederick Buechner

Radioactive: Marie and Pierre Curie: A Love Story by Lauren Redniss: I put this on my wish list as soon as it came out last year.  I wrote not one but two reports on Madame Curie in elementary school; she was my go-to Important Woman / Woman in Science / Biographical Figure.  So, I was excited to learn more about her as an adult!  This book is sort of a graphic novel / biography-in-collage, which I don’t think I knew when I put it on my list.  Now I want it even more!

Super Natural Every Day: Well-Loved Recipes from My Natural Foods Kitchen by Heidi Swanson: My friend Katie loves this cookbook, and she has excellent taste (ha ha).  So I would love to check it out!

Whatever Book My Dad Gives Me: Every year, my dad chooses a birthday book and a Christmas book for me and my sister.  He always chooses something I haven’t heard of but end up loving, something I wouldn’t have chosen myself but end up loving, or in one case, something I did choose for myself that he bought without knowing that.  The guy is good, and I am looking forward to this year’s picks.

What books do you hope Santa / Hanukkah Harry / your loved ones bring you this year?  Or, what is the best / worst / most surprising book you’ve received as a gift?

4 Comments

Filed under Book Report

4 responses to “Book Report: Top Ten Books I Hope Santa Brings Me

  1. Great selection. I am hoping for gift cards. I already got one to Barnes and Noble.

    http://its-raining-books.blogspot.com/2011/12/top-ten-tuesday-books-i-want-for_20.html

    Like

  2. “Radioactve” sounds amazing! I too have a secret love of the Curies from early reports in school. I actually studied physics and such in university and wrote another paper on their research and significance today. I have no added that to my wish list!

    Like

  3. I, too, love books; however, I do not have quite an extensive wish-list as you. It looks to be quite interesting, as well as informative.

    Here’s to a Merry Christmas, and I hope that your father picks a winner for you.

    I have enjoyed viewing your blog. Congrats on being Freshly Pressed!! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

