Top Ten Favorite Books I Read in 2011

I’ll be honest: I can’t say for sure that these are my absolute for sure top ten favorite books I read this year.  They would more accurately be called Top Ten Books I Remember Reading and Liking in 2011.  But that’s not the assignment from The Broke and the Bookish this week, so that’s not what I’m calling this list.  These are definitely ten books I loved this year, and that will have to be good enough.

The Novels I Couldn’t Put Down:

                  A Visit from the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan

                 Room by Emma Donahue

                 State of Wonder by Ann Patchett

The Mystery Novels That Aren’t Just Mystery Novels

            Started Early, Took My Dog by Kate Atkinson

           Bury Your Dead by Louise Penny

The Non-Fiction That Was Educational and Engrossing

             In the Garden of Beasts by Erik Larson

            The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot

            Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand

The Books by Funny Famous Women That Were, Indeed, Funny

             Bossypants by Tina Fey

             Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? by Mindy Kaling

What books made your heart sing this year?

11 Comments

Filed under Book Report

11 responses to “Top Ten Favorite Books I Read in 2011

  1. I too have Room on my Top Ten! Great choices. I am gonna add to my already LONG tbr pile!! Come check mine too:

    Here is my Top Ten post!

    Like

  2. Great list! I love Room as well!

    Like

  3. I’m currently reading A Visit from the Goon Squad. It’s like a cymbal crash to the brain at times. Loving it.

    I had high hopes for Miss Peregrines Home For Peculiar Children, but it was an enormous disappointment. If I hadn’t been reading it on a Nook, I would’ve thrown the book against the wall, it was that disappointing.

    Before I Go to Sleep by SJ Watson felt like a book I’ve read before, maybe because the twists are a little cliched. But I would recommend it because it was good enough I couldn’t put it down, staying up late, sneaking peeks at any time I could.

    Like

    • A Visit from the Goon Squad was not quite what I expected, but I loved it, too (obviously). I will have to check out Before I Go to Sleep–not one I’d heard of, but it sounds like a riveting read! Thank you!

      Like

  4. So glad you were featured on Freshly Pressed. Love your sense of humor!

    Like

  5. These are some unfamiliar titles I am excited to look into them,everyone else’s lists have the same books over and over.

    Like

  6. ecraigr

    I would have to agree with A Visit from the Good Squad being superb. I seem to be one of the few people that was seriously impressed by 1Q84 by Murakami. Perhaps I am simply biased on that though.

    Like

  7. I love the way you broke your list into categories. Great choices. I need to read lots of these!

    ~Nikki @ Imaginative Adventure

    Check out my Top ten. Plus my top two favorite books giveaway!

    Like

  8. Pingback: Home Again, Home Again | Never Done It That Way Before

Leave a Reply

