What Aren’t You Doing New Year’s Eve?

A coordinated noisemaker / tiara combo to ring in 2009.

“We can just do nothing for New Year’s Eve, right?” I asked Mike cautiously the other day.

He gave me a stunned look and an emphatic “YES.”  (In this relationship, one of us is an extrovert and the other is an introvert.  Any guesses as to which is which?)

It’s not that I don’t like to celebrate.  I like champagne, I like parties, I love foil tiaras and noisemakers.  But New Year’s Eve has never been my favorite holiday.  There’s too much pressure to have the best night ever.  Plus, midnight is pretty late.  (I know.  I know.)

So, as I prepare to finish writing my sermon, I thought I’d take a look at some of my more memorable New Year’s Eves.  Join me:

The year Mike and I, engaged to be married, visited Minnesota.  We ate supper at 5, saw a movie at 7 (the last show of the night), and were sitting in his parents’ living room by 9, listening to the sounds of both parents and one brother snoring on their respective recliners.  (Are you impressed that one family has three recliners in their living room?  Because I totally was. )

The year that I tried to celebrate with three college friends and one high school friend, at my childhood home.  I will say the food was fabulous.  The combination of friends was . . . not ideal.  This night was a harbinger of the many awkward groups I would gather around myself in the college dining hall, and the first time I learned the lesson that Not Everyone Who Is Friends with You Will Want to Be Friends with Each Other.

The year I actually went out on the town.  I wore my most fabulous, most uncomfortable shoes.  I drank a little too  much and got champagne spilled on me.  I waited with increasing crankiness until someone else was ready to leave.  My favorite part of the night was when I got home,  put my feet up, watched Sex and the City, and ate leftover mac and cheese.

The year we had a party and no one came.  We invited a bunch of friends, almost all of whom were out of town.  Saddest.  Evite.  Ever.  In fact, it’s not true that no one came: our dear friends Susan and Judy did, and the four of us had a lovely evening of eating, board games, and champagne.

The year my friends got married!  Obviously, this was the best.  Mike and I got dressed up, went to a wedding, and stayed at the reception until probably 12:05 AM.  There was great food, very impressive dancing, and a good time was had by all.  If I could always go to a wedding on New Year’s Eve, I would love this holiday.

So, if you’re doing something festive tonight, raise a glass or blow a foil noisemaker for me.  If you’re doing something cozy, eat some comfort food for me.  And if you, too, are finishing your sermon, let’s pool our resources so we can get to bed sooner!

Wherever you go and whatever you do, have a wonderful (and safe and healthy) time.  Happy New Year!

Making some noise to welcome 2008. Champagne and Reddi Wip were also featured elements of our Party for Four.

6 Comments

Filed under Marvelous Miscellany

6 responses to “What Aren’t You Doing New Year’s Eve?

  1. Our plans: sit at in-laws and maybe stay up to watch the ball drop. In-laws are at a church party so not even home. So not a party girl.

    Like

  2. Susan

    We had a great time at that New Year’s party, Maggie 🙂 This year, Neil, Sarah and Sarah’s brother Luke came over for games. Small and low-key is lovely 🙂

    Like

  3. I really, really, REALLY liked this post. I once was a New Year’s Eve person, with all that awful pressure, but now I am a New Year’s Day person– which is way more fun in my book.

    Some questions: Were all the recliners matching? Or was there at least one “lady-style” recliner? I ask because this, too, is the way of my people. We recline.

    Whose brilliant idea was it to have a New Year’s Eve wedding? No one is EVER going to forget their anniversary. That is GENIUS!

    This is more of a statement than a question: Please tell me that the champagne and the Reddi-Whip did not somehow get combined into a single festive dessert-beverage-thing. That never works out the way you think it will— it’s a mixology disaster in the making. (…said the maker of mocktails.)

    Like

    • New Year’s Day! Yes! Maybe next year, when New Year’s Day is not on a Sunday, praise the Lord, I will have a New Year’s Day brunch. I can still use my beautiful champagne glasses for the mimosas. Brilliant.

      I do not think the recliners were matching–this is seven or so years ago, so my memory is hazy, and the furniture has been upgraded at least in part since then. I do think you might call one of them “lady-style.” I am not a big one for recliners, myself–I prefer a couch or a big, non-reclining chair.

      Two of my seminary friends got married on New Year’s Eve, and what made it great for me was the fact that the bride’s hometown was near my in-laws, so we could visit them for Christmas and just pop over for the wedding. Perfect.

      Good gravy, NO, the Reddi-Whip and the champagne did not get combined. I don’t remember what the Reddi-whip was for–angel food cake and berries?–but it was definitely not for a beverage. Thanks for your concern!

      Like

  4. Pingback: Lady-Style Recliners and Other Decorative Grandparental Mysteries « Bluebird Blvd.

Leave a Reply

