Top Ten Authors I Wish Would Write Another Book

Let’s talk about books! And make a list!  What is not fun about that?

Even more fun: linking up with The Broke and the Bookish, hosts and creators of this weekly feature.  This week: Top Ten Authors I Wish Would Write Another Book.  Here’s my list, in chronological order:

Mark the Evangelist: I love Mark’s Gospel, and I love that it’s short.  I even love the true ending: “They said nothing to anyone, because they were afraid.”  But come on.  Luke wrote Acts.  Where is Mark’s sequel?

Jane Austen: I mean, obviously.  Six published novels is not enough, especially when one of them is Mansfield Park.

Laura Ingalls Wilder: I suppose I could read her travel journals and some of the other non-Little-House writing, but what I really want is more of the Little House series.  Despite the problems they present to a modern reader, they are magical, and I just want more.

Agatha Christie: I feel a little ridiculous asking for more Christie, since she wrote so very many novels, short stories, and plays.  Specifically, I want more Marple.  Poirot is the star of 33 novels and 51 short stories; Miss Marple only gets 12 novels and 20 stories.  What were you thinking, Dame Agatha?

F. Scott Fitzgerald: My teenage self would be outraged, but I think it’s probably true that if you’ve read one Fitzgerald, you’ve read them all.  But I have a special affection for his unfinished, posthumously published novel The Love of the Last Tycoon, and I wish he could have finished it.

Truman Capote: I will always love love Capote.  I wish he had finished Answered Prayers, and I wish he had another, better book after that.

J. D. Salinger: What a stingy guy.  I mean, maybe I don’t actually want to read anymore about the Glass family (I loved Nine Stories, but it gave me nightmares . . . in college).  It would be nice to have the option, wouldn’t it?

Kazuo Ishiguro: It turns out he does have a newer book than Never Let Me Go (2005): Nocturne, a 2009 short story collection that has mixed reviews on Amazon.  I immediately requested it from the library, but I already want more Ishiguro.  Preferably a novel that’s as good as his first, The Remains of the Day.

Kathryn Stockett: I loved The Help, and while I suspect Stockett may be a one hit wonder, I would definitely read another book from her.

Ann Patchett: I know, I know.  She just published a book in 2011.  What can I say?  Ann Patchett is my favorite, and I always want more.

And speaking of authors . . . travel back to 1993 with Moxy Fruvous: an adorable live version of “My Baby Loves a Bunch of Authors.”  I would say be prepared for the clapping, snapping, and jumping, but I don’t know if you can be, really.  

Your turn: what author or authors leave you wanting more?

19 Comments

Filed under Book Report

19 responses to “Top Ten Authors I Wish Would Write Another Book

  1. I am glad I am not the only person with a Laura Ingalls Wilder weakness!

    Like

  2. I totally agree about Laura Ingalls Wilder, J.D. Salinger, or of course, Jane Austen! Great list!

    My Top Ten

    Like

    • Thanks, and thanks for stopping! Yours is great, too, and shames me for forgetting poor Harper Lee, who I always picture as Catherine Keener (since seeing the Capote movie).

      Like

  3. Jane

    Having recently been burned by the Girl with the Dragon Tattoo series, I would like to request Stieg Larsson come back from the grave and finish the other seven novels he intended to write.

    Like

  4. kara

    Emily Bronte. Wuthering Heights was a wonderful novel and rumor is she was working on another but it was destroyed by her sister. I often wonder if it would be as dark and romantic has Wuthering Heights.

    Like

  5. kenziekay

    Kate Morton. She’s not considered “classic” (she’s a relatively new author), but her books are amazing, especially “The Forgotten Garden.” As of right now she has three books, but hopefully there’ll be more! 😀

    Like

    • I love her books, and I agree that “The Forgotten Garden” is her best. Although, I could not get into “The Distant Hours”. It is on my (mental) list to give that one another go. Thanks for the reminder!

      Like

  6. Sara

    Jhumpa Lahiri! Can never get enough.

    Like

  7. There are some good ones on this. I didn’t really like “The Help” (everyone prepare to punch me in the face later please), but I’m totally with you on Austen and Capote.

    Like

  8. Ohh you have lot of interesting picks! I can tell you’re into the much more “thinking” literature, as I like to think of it. Good for you! I wish I could read some Fitzgerald and Salinger for fun XD

    Like

  9. Oakes Theresa

    Just found this…perusing…

    Ann Patchett!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Like

  10. Steve

    So you know, ‘Remains of the Day’ wasn’t Ishiguro’s first. That was the very possibly even better ‘Pale View of Hills.’ If you haven’t read it, then your dream for another book is realized. I could loan it to you. Is your back up to seeing people yet?

    Like

    • Darn, I have read it; I just got the order wrong. But I don’t remember it very well, so maybe it’s time to reread them all . . .

      We would love to see you, book or no. Maybe next weekend?

      Like

  11. Pingback: The Book of Moi | Never Done It That Way Before

  12. Pingback: Top Ten Top Tens! | Never Done It That Way Before

Leave a Reply

