Fearfully and Wonderfully Made

 O Lord, you have searched me and known me.  You know when I sit down and when I rise up; you discern my thoughts from far away.  You search out my path and my lying down, and are acquainted with all my ways . . .  For it was you who formed my inward parts; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Wonderful are your works; that I know very well.–Psalm 139, selected verses

Our psalm for worship today was Psalm 139.  It’s one of my favorites.  When I tried to write a sermon about it, though, it turned out pretty lame, as sermons on my very favorite texts tend to do.  The gist of it was, “Isn’t this awesome?”  Which, come to think of it, is kind of the gist of all my sermons, but it just didn’t work in this case.

So I preached on 1 Samuel and spent the children’s sermon talking about this great psalm.  We read Dr. Seuss’ The Shape of Me and Other Stuff, and talked about how amazing the bodies that God gave us are.

Here are the things the kids named that their bodies can do: walk, run, talk, sing, laugh, eat, lie down, sleep, wake up, and jump.  Pretty good list, right?

Whether or not your body can do all those things, take a moment today to give thanks for the things it can do, and the things it has done.  Know that you are fearfully and wonderfully made.

Yes, YOU.

12 Comments

Filed under Ministry Matters

12 responses to “Fearfully and Wonderfully Made

  1. My husband and I read this passage today, and we did give thanks for our health and our blessings…and that the Lord knows us so well and loves and cares for our needs.

    I am linked up with Barbie today. Come for a visit if you can.

    Have a blessed day Pastor.

    Linda @ Truthful Tidbits

    Like

  2. I love Psalm 139. The fact that God, the Creator of all, searches and knows me, well that just gives me the shivers! He cares about us in a deep, deep way. To think that God was putting us together in our mother’s womb is just amazing.

    Great verse to reflect on, glad I came by. 🙂

    Blessings,
    <

    Like

  3. Psalm 139 is where I hide when I am having trouble remembering who I am, who loves me and who I belong to. To think that the God of the Universe created me, perfectly, in His eyes. Just takes my breath away! Thank you for linking up today!

    Like

  4. It is (not surprisingly?) also my favorite Psalm. Ever. I do stop before the end, of course. Nora and I read your blog in the car again and loved it. And you.

    Like

  5. Jenny Olsztynski

    I love your blog everyday, but this really spoke to me today! I sent this to about 10 friends. As we age, we sometimes forget to be thankful for all that our bodies can still do! Thanks for reminding us to be thankful for all that we have.

    Like

  6. I praise you for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. I am made just like this for a reason. Even in my 30s I can still for like a little girl getting teased, but this is who I am, made by God!

    Like

  7. I love the phrase fearfully and wonderfully made. It sums up how I feel as a parent. In awe of my children’s individuality and fire. In humility (and sometimes fear) of my responsibility. I really appreciate how you incorporate spirituality in your blog. My faith has been dormant. Your blog reminds me that my soul may need nourishment and consideration.

    Like

    • Very true, Beth! I marvel at my fearfully and wonderfully made daughter pretty regularly. And I’m so glad my blog is helping to awaken your faith! It’s a gift from God (faith, not my blog–I’m not quite that bigheaded)!

      Like

Leave a Reply

