Because the Internet Is My Accountability Partner

Remember when I told you the top ten books on my To Be Read list for winter? In the interest of accountability (to my readers specifically and the internet generally), I thought I would let you know how it’s going:

The Mysterious Affair at Styles by Agatha Christie.  Status: Read it!  Review: I figured this one out pretty quickly, but Dame Agatha managed to talk me out of it.  She’s crafty like that.  I enjoyed the blundering narrator device, and I enjoyed Poirot, although I can already see why Dame Agatha grew tired of him.  “No one but I, Hercule Poirot, would attempt this!” he keeps saying.  I mean, tone it down, buddy.

The Secret Adversary by Agatha Christie.    Status: Read it!  Review: I liked Tommy and Tuppence so much more than I expected to (their humble beginnings are charming, of course).  This time, I thought I had the mystery solved, and couldn’t figure out why it had been so simple.  Guess what?  It wasn’t.  I look forward to more appearances by Tommy and Tuppence.

Bleak House by Charles Dickens.  Status: Read 120 pages; gave up.  Review: I had a hard time with Esther as narrator.  She is so self-deprecating, and not in that funny modern way.  I loved the rich characterization and detailed descriptions, and the humor, and the pathos.  I partly wish I had not already watched the excellent Masterpiece Theater miniseries, since it ruins the mystery and suspense (while also helping me keep people straight, especially nice since I keep setting the book aside).  I will try again . . . one day.

Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) by Mindy Kaling.  Status: Read it!  Review:  I enjoyed this one a lot and wrote a review of it here.

I’m Not the New Me by Wendy McClure.  Status: On hold.  Review:  I read a few pages, but it didn’t grab me, and my list / pile o’ books is so long . . .

The Long Winter by Laura Ingalls Wilder.  Status: To Be Read.  This is one of my favorites, and I look forward to breaking in the new box set I got for Christmas this year.  Yes, I got children’s books for Christmas.  No, they are not for my child yet.

The Snowy Day by Ezra Jack Keats.  Status: Read it (a board book, so maybe no exclamation point of accomplishment here).    Review:  Right now, I love this book more than Zoe does.  It’s in the bedroom, but she usually rejects it at bedtime.  Maybe because we still have no snow on the ground?

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline.  Status: Read it!  Review: Loved it and wrote about it here.

Science Fair Season by Judy Dutton.  Status: Not yet read.  Review: I checked it out, renewed it, and had to return it before I’d read even a page.  I returned it yesterday and requested it again today (thanks again, internet).  I do still want to read it, and it is still, technically, winter.  So there.

Ten Little Caterpillars by Bill Martin, Jr. and Lois Ehlert.  Status: Read it (again, no exclamatory punctuation because really, it’s a picture book–of course I read it).  Review: Zoe and I both love it.  She found it at the library, and an older girl read most of it to Zoe.  When the girl got stuck on a word, Zoe waited a few moments then leaned over and prompted, “a melon patch!”  She was right, and she did it so sweetly I could barely stand it.

What about you?  What books are keeping  you up at night?  Or, what books are gathering dust on your bedside table?

7 Comments

Filed under Book Report

7 responses to “Because the Internet Is My Accountability Partner

  1. Claire

    that baby is brilliant 🙂 so fun talking to her this weekend.

    Like

  2. This post is right on! Fellow bloggers do help us toe the mark when friends scoff and family gets tired of hearing about it. Also I love that you got children’s books. We are never old to enjoy them and a great picture book has, what else but great art work.
    Cheers 😉

    Like

    • Rediscovering beloved children’s books and learning about new ones is one of the greatest things of being a parent! Zoe plays me like a violin–if I’m busy doing something, or asking her to do something she doesn’t want to do, she asks me to read her a book. I do it just about every time!

      Like

  3. dinnerwithdelores

    Definitely, posting about your actions keeps you accountable. We are doing a “Year of Less Spending”, only buying necessities, and knowing I have to tell a bunch of people when I do blow money needlessly keeps me from doing it!

    Like

    • Nice! This is why I have avoided posting about my good intentions to really start exercising this year . . . but I think I probably should (post about it, and of course DO it).

      Like

Leave a Reply

