Good Fortune(s)

MCCALL'S MAGAZINE, STYLE & BEAUTY COVER, FORTUNE TELLER 

I’ve always loved fortune cookies.  It’s a dessert and a clue to your future in one neat little package!

Too often, though, the “fortunes” are not fortunes at all.  They’re bland and banal statements about life: “The surest way to have nothing to give is to give nothing.”  Or, they’re preachy words for living: “Do not be overly judgmental of your loved one’s intentions or actions.”

But last  night, at my dad’s Festive Birthday Dinner (Chinese Restaurant Edition), Zoe got a proper fortune: “Right now there’s an energy pushing you in a new direction.”

Pretty good, huh?  I don’t know what it means, but I’ll tell you what: I’m really hoping  it means potty training.

Whats the best (or worst) fortune you’ve ever gotten in a cookie?

13 Comments

Filed under Marvelous Miscellany, Taste and See

13 responses to “Good Fortune(s)

  1. Kirsten

    Justin and I once had matching fortunes. Our server said she had never had that happen. You’d think that if you were going to get matching fortunes, they’d be something fun. Oh no. “You are practical and analytical.” Dullest fortunes ever.

    Like

  2. Jane

    Chinese meals are substandard for many reasons:
    1) No free rice
    2) No General Tso’s
    3) No egg rolls
    and last, but certainly not least
    4) NO FORTUNE COOKIES (we couldn’t even find them in the Chinese supermarket)
    So next time you eat out, raise an egg roll to us and make sure you get plenty of fortune cookies, however lacklustre the fortunes may be.

    Like

  3. Emily

    This is no joke. I once had a fortune that read:

    One day you will give in and say hello to your old friend, the unibrow.

    I almost died laughing and I am pretty sure I still have it around here somewhere.

    Like

    • Love it! Were you at Chino Latino? They have the funniest fortunes. When I graduated from college, we had dinner there, and I think I got something like, “Yes, those pants do make you look fat.” Welcome to the real world!

      Like

  4. My favorite one was “Women know that the more they seem to obey the more they rule.”

    Like

  5. I totally agree with you about the lameness of fortunes in fortune cookies these days. A friend of mine and I go to lunch every month to a Chinese restaurant and they now have naughty fortune cookies! They’re mostly dirty jokes, and plus the cookie tastes terrible! Every time we eat there we make up our minds to start making our own fortune cookies with really fun fortunes tucked inside. If we ever do that I think I might steal the unibrow one Emily got. That’s pretty funny.

    Like

  6. Martin got one last week that said something about “be calm and you will gain a reward or something”. Pretty good for a 4 year old!:)

    Like

  7. Pingback: Restaurant Tofu and Other Surprises | Never Done It That Way Before

Leave a Reply

