Say it with Potlucks

Here’s one way to say you care:

And here’s another:

Voetballer aan het koken / A footballer cooking a meal

Now, flowers are lovely, but personally, I think food is even more lovely.

As you already know, I love a potluck.  But in a community where being a vegetarian is definitely “different” (with the full Minnesotan intention behind the word), I never know how much of the potluck fare I’ll be able to enjoy.

After two and a half years here, there is almost always some salad or main dish I can eat. ( Sometimes it even says, “P. Maggie” on the lid.)  At Game Night yesterday, I was delighted to see deviled eggs waiting in the fridge and vegetable cream cheese pizza on the counter.

But then.  Then.  “That’s meatless chili,” the council president said, pointing to the crock pot I thought contained sloppy joes or some other beefy delight.

“I thought of you, so this is potato soup,” the other council president said, placing another crock pot on the counter.

“Oh my goodness, everyone thought of me tonight!” I said.  I might have blushed.

“Well, you’re loved!” was the gracious reply.

Thanks for saying it with potlucks, First and Beckville.  I love you, too.

 

P.S. You know what else I love, thanks to these fine people?  Pickles!  Read all about it here.

11 Comments

Filed under Taste and See

11 responses to “Say it with Potlucks

  1. Amy Reumann

    Nice! But I am really not surprised.

    Like

  2. Oh! Your congregation is wonderful. I love the fact that you and your congregants are growing and learning together. So cool!

    (I maintain a list of vegetarian and vegan recipes as long as my arm because I have many friends who do not consume certain things. Vegetarian/vegan cooking rocks!)

    Like

  3. Oh, they are so sweet! It is good to be loved.

    I am gluten intolerant which is tough in most restaurants, especially breakfast. My family worries about this and sweetly sends me information on where to buy delicious GF cakes, etc. But I rather like the slim me that appeared after I gave up eating wheat, rye and barley. More than anything I love feeling so well.

    Milkshakes and french fries are always safe. So are smoothies, cottage cheese and fresh fruit. It’s not that hard.

    Like

    • That is tricky! Thank goodness for milkshakes and french fries (and Blizzards)! One of my churches hosted our conference pastors’ meeting a few weeks ago, so they had to do something that included vegetarian food for me and gluten free food for one of the other pastors. They went with an amazing sandwich / salad bar that included gluten free bread, and plenty of fresh fruit on the dessert table.

      Because, yes, there’s always a dessert table. I do love it here.

      Like

Leave a Reply

