Books to Make You Sing

It’s Top Ten Tuesday!  This week’s list is a tricky one: Top Ten Books I’d Give a Theme Song to (and what the song is and why).  Read my list, and click on over to the Broke and the Bookish, where you’ll find many more.

I can’t say I’ve ever thought about giving a book a theme song before, so I really struggled with this list.  Finally, I decided to work backwards,  choosing songs from classic musicals and finding books that seemed to connect with them.

Even then, I pretty much failed at this assignment.  Instead of a Top Ten, I have . . . a Top Three.  This is lame, but I don’t have anything else for you today, dear readers, so please enjoy my three book / song pairings and the YouTube videos that go with them.

The King and I

I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith–“We Kiss in a Shadow”: This is not a perfect fit, and to explain my choice would be spoiler-y, so I’ll just say . . . I love this song, and this book.  What connects them (very loosely) is the idea of secret, surprising romance.

Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro–“Hello, Young Lovers”: What connects these two for me is the sense of wistfulness and the power of memory to console.  Which is maybe a more positive spin on the book, but what can I say?  Positivity is one of my strengths.  And speaking of positivity, check out the Stevie Wonder version of this song:

Oklahoma!

Out of the Deep I Cry by Julia Spencer-Fleming–“People Will Say We’re in Love”: The third book in the mystery series featuring Episcopal priest Clare and small town police chief Russ.  They are in love, but he is married, so they try to deny their feelings and avoid stirring up gossip.  That sounds like a spoiler, but anyone who’s read a book before should not be surprised.

How about you?  Are there any book / song pairings that immediately spring to mind?

5 Comments

Filed under Book Report

5 responses to “Books to Make You Sing

  1. How great that you also feature I Capture The Castle! 🙂 I love that book and I am going to check out your choice of song!

    Like

  2. Rachel

    I once did something like this for a high school project! I remember I paired up ‘I Want to Break Free’ by Queen with Edith Wharton’s The House of Mirth. It’s definitely a fun exercise 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

