Make ‘Em Laugh

Parenting is full of milestones.  (Pro Tip: Write that down.)  Baby’s first smile, first tooth, first word, first steps.  Last weekend, I discovered a new one: baby’s first pratfall.

Zoe and I were at the library, where we ran into another girl about her age.  After a brief tussle over some puzzle pieces, Zoe and her new friend agreed to build a tower of blocks together.  Zoe grabbed a few blocks, then stumbled and fell.  The other girl laughed (not in a mean way, just in a two-year-old way).

Zoe looked up, considered, and got to her feet.  She grabbed two more blocks, pretended to wobble back and forth, and fell dramatically to the floor, to the great delight of the other child.  Then, she did it at least ten more times, with variations.  It was a hit each and every time.

My baby had discovered the pratfall.*  And she was awesome at it.

So, maybe next weekend we can start working on this:

*Technically, a pratfall is a fall on the tush.  So, if somebody knows of a general word for a funny fake fall, do tell.

7 Comments

Filed under Your Moment of Zoe

7 responses to “Make ‘Em Laugh

  1. Claire

    love it! also love that she did it at least 10 more times 🙂 so excited to see that baby next week!!

    Like

  2. Liz L.

    One of my favorite pratfalls:

    Like

  3. Okay, strange things are afoot. We are seriously racking up some serendipity points!

    Last week, my Mash Note was supposed to be about “The Dick Van Dyke Show” and vaudeville, but I wasn’t satisfied with any of my drafts. (That means, in two weeks, look out for this particular story.)

    I know that her tumble falls under “physical comedy” and not “slapstick” as originally thought. But, boy is this a good question! (Syncronicity no. 3: I’ve been trying to learn the vocabulary of comedy in recent months.)

    This post and your daughter’s discovery of comedy are both great moments. I’m so, so glad you wrote this one!

    Like

    • Whoops! I mean to spell that word properly— “synchronicity.” Sorry!

      Like

    • Wow! I am behind in my blog reading, so I’m excited to see what other synchronicity awaits. And I’m excited for Dick Van Dyke and vaudeville in a few weeks, too!

      I really thought someone would have the answer to the prat fall question! I hope you learn it, if it exists.

      Thanks, Bluebird!

      Like

Leave a Reply

