Let It Be Silly

I am not embarrassed to admit that I saw National Treasure 2: Book of Secrets in the movie theater.

Okay, I am slightly embarrassed.  I saw it with Mike, his brother Paul, and their mother Lexi at the Litchfield movie theater and enjoyed it more than I probably should have.  As we left the theater, Paul said, “Well, it was okay.  But it wasn’t as realistic as the first one.”

You know, the original National Treasure.  Where there are Masonic secrets written on the back of the Declaration of Independence, which the hero steals.  Where the hero is Nicolas Cage, for crying out loud.  Realism is not on the menu.  It’s not even in the building.

The National Treasure movies are not (I can’t stop myself) national treasures.  They are just silly.  And what in the world is wrong with that?

As you may know, I am reading all of Agatha Christie’s novels in chronological order.     (That’s just the kind of crazy life I lead.)  I’m currently in the late 1920s, and I am frequently tempted to put down a book because it is just so silly.  Global criminal organizations led by one “subtle oriental mind”.  Diamonds.  Fictional Balkan nations.  Disguises upon disguises.  Headquarters built into the base of a mountain. You get the idea.

But you know what?  The more I read, the more I realize that there is nothing wrong with silly.  And my goodness, do I ever want to know the secret of Chimneys / identity of the man in the brown suit / fate of the Big Four!

So whether your silly thing is Nicolas Cage movies (I recommend Next, for sure), Agatha Christie novels, or something else entirely, embrace it and do not be ashamed.

What do you love in spite of (or because of) its silliness?

Mr. and Mrs. Andrew Lyman, Polish tobacco farmers near Windsor Locks, Connecticut (LOC)

8 Comments

Filed under Book Report, Marvelous Miscellany

8 responses to “Let It Be Silly

  1. Ah, so fun! I am right there with you on Agatha Christie, but I can do without Nicholas Cage. Ever. However, a little Miss Marple or Poirot can definitely bring some joy back into the day! Happy reading 🙂

    Like

    • He is definitely an acquired taste. I loved him and his silly voice in Peggy Sue Got Married and never looked back. I haven’t gotten to the Marple years yet (though I did read a bunch before deciding to read them all in order), and I can’t wait!

      Like

  2. Hooray for silly and suspended reality! Life is über real enough. My guilty pleasure is chick lit – I love happily ever after.

    Like

  3. Back in the day my husband and I saw the movie Ishtar. We thought it was an entertaining movie. Imagine our surprise when it was panned as one of the worst movies of all time. We must be one of the few couples in America who can saw we saw this movie together.

    Like

  4. Elle

    I think you’re forgetting the best Nick Cage movie, Maggie. THE ROCK 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

