Spring Fever: Books to Play Hooky With

Is that dangling preposition in the title making your fingers itch?  Mine, too.  But what can I say?  “Books with which to play hooky” sounds even worse.  And anyway, it’s not my fault.  It’s Top Ten Tuesday, and the folks at the Broke and the Bookish are calling the shots.  This week is Spring Fever: Top Ten Books to Play Hooky With.  We’re so crazy we’re ignoring the rules of grammar!  (Pro Tip: I know.  That is not very crazy.)


Anyway.  Here are ten books with which I would totally play hooky:

The Jane Austen Book Club by Karen Joy Fowler: In fact, I totally did play hooky to read this book a few (eight?) years ago.  I mean, I was at work and everything, but let’s just say my lunch break was long.  Almost as long as this book.

Midnight in Austenland by Shannon Hale: I am dying to read this book, but not willing to spend money on it.  I am almost exclusively a library girl these days, for financial and physical space reasons, but if anyone wanted to lend or give me this book, I would love to play hooky and read a mystery / romance set in a sort of Jane Austen version of Colonial Williamsburg.  Why, yes, I do have a Kindle . . .

Insurgent  by Veronica Roth: I find it annoying that so many YA novels are series books these days, but I am looking forward to the sequel to Divergent, a dystopian romance set in post-apocalyptic Chicago.  And the third book, which I predict will be called Emergent.  You heard it here first.

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins: What I really want to do is play hooky and watch the movie.  But I wouldn’t mind sitting down with this book (and the second and third books, even though they are not as good), either.

Sorta Like a Rock Star by Matthew Quick: I was going to save this one for next week’s Top Ten list, Books to Read in a Day.  Because I pretty much did.  And I loved it.  And I will write a review of it some time soon.  It is sort of like Juno (tone, not subject matter) meets Because of Winn Dixie meets . . . something else that is awesome.  My new favorite YA novel.

The Murder at the Vicarage by Agatha Christie: I am reading all of Dame Agatha’s novels in chronological order, and I am just a few books away from this one, the first featuring Miss Marple.  I so prefer her to Poirot, and since I’m pretty sure I’ve read this one before there’s a chance I will “solve” it and feel very brilliant indeed.

And, I think I’m done at six!  This is the week before Holy Week, the busiest, most intense week of the year for me (and for most pastors), so playing hooky is not really an option, at least until Easter Monday.  (Pro Tip: It will then be called “comp time”.)

People hanging out in a hammock What books have you played hooky with?  Or, what books make you wish you could?

6 Comments

Filed under Book Report

6 responses to “Spring Fever: Books to Play Hooky With

  1. kara

    When I was in high school my aunt introduced me to smut books. When our senior classes concluded I sat in a chair with a stack of Nora Roberts books next to it. I just read one after the other. That is all I did, next to go to work at the end of the day. My taste since then has become more refined but I played “excused” hooky with those novels.

    Like

    • Ha! Reading is reading, right? The first review of the Nora Roberts book I picked at random from Amazon’s list was a rave by a Southern Baptist pastor. He is a big fan!

      Like

  2. Kate

    Bookends by Jane Green

    Like

  3. Is Hooky Books any better as a title or does that sound too low rent?

    Like

Leave a Reply

