How to Get a Work Out without Going to the Gym

Despite my best intentions, I don’t always make it to the gym.

Luckily, I have found these excellent substitutes:

1. Forget that the Epilepsy Foundation is picking up donations as early as 7:30 AM on Tuesday morning.  Run down the basement stairs, grab two boxes full of stuff, run back up the stairs, and run out to the curb.  That extra flush on your cheeks is from the embarrassment of doing this in a Space Festival t-shirt, yellow fleece pants, and black ballet flats.

2. Forget the diaper bag when you walk over to Great Grandma’s house.  When your daughter fills her diaper, she will refuse to sit in her own filth on the way home.  After she gets tired of walking next to the stroller, push the stroller while carrying your thirty-pound child.  Extra points for the challenge of steering one-handed and holding the kid so that the smell is as far from you as possible.

3. Let someone else forget to pick up the food from the food shelf on the day you’re supposed to fill backpacks at church.  The resulting scramble to get the bags filled and delivered the next day will allow you to pick up about ten of them and deliver them to the school in the next town.  To get the full benefit of lugging in the first three astonishingly heavy bags before the custodian comes out to help you, obey the No Parking signs in front of the school and park around the block.

And there you  have it!  What unintentional or unexpected exercise have you gotten lately?

6 Comments

Filed under Marvelous Miscellany

6 responses to “How to Get a Work Out without Going to the Gym

  1. This may be my favorite of your posts – written from my office chair where my butt has been all day.

    Like

    • Thanks, Amy! Thanks to my CPE at Alexian Village (an assisted living / skilled nursing facility), I am also an expert in chair exercise. (Me and the nuns in their nineties, several mornings a week.) Let me know if you want some tips.

      Like

  2. Hahaha. I can IMAGINE all that especially holding the kid. Does that count as exercise? 😀

    Like

  3. purpleowltree1234

    Racing out my house in my pyjamas in freezing cold rain (it’s almost winter here in Australia), at about 2:40am this morning, to help stop a cat fight. I can’t stand hearing cats fight. I get so worried they’re getting hurt. I Have to run out and stop them. haha! It works. They stop, and seem to go home. 🙂
    Rach.

    Like

    • Oooh, good one! I would not want to sleep through a cat fight, either. And we have a rather alarming number of feral cats in the neighborhood, so it’s rather surprising that I haven’t heard one . . .

      Like

Leave a Reply

