Known and Unknown

One of the things I like best about Sorta Like a Rock Star, my new favorite YA novel, is that when something truly terrible and senseless happens to narrator / heroine Amber Appleton, the Roman Catholic priest who visits her every day does  not have an easy answer.

In fact, he doesn’t have any answer other than: “I don’t know.”

I like this response for its honesty.  For its acknowledgement that terrible things happen for no good reason.  That even Easter people bear the wounds of suffering and sorrow and death.  And it sucks.

Tonight, an eight-year-old boy named Gage Driver died after a tough fight with brain cancer.  It is devastating, and heartbreaking, and it makes me long for a better answer than “I don’t know.”

So, here is what I know.

I know that for Gage, there is no more suffering and no more pain.  There is the peace and love and perpetual light of Christ shining on him.

And I  know that for Gage’s family, there is a lot of suffering, which I pray will be eased a tiny bit by their trust that Gage’s suffering is done.  Gage shares in the victory over death that we celebrate in this Easter season.

So, if you are a praying sort of person, pray for strength and peace for Gage’s family and friends in the days and weeks and months and years ahead.  And if you are not a praying sort of person, send some good thoughts or vibes or virtual hugs their way.

Because prayer is powerful (good thoughts, too).  Not to get a desired result, but to let the prayed for people know that they are lifted up in love.  Our love and God’s love.

I know it.

3 Comments

Filed under Ministry Matters

3 responses to “Known and Unknown

  1. Jenny Olsztynski

    I know from experience that there are no shortcuts through the grieving process. I pray that this family is surrounded by love as they mourn the loss of this young boy. And I know the love he had for them will help lift them up.

    Like

  2. purpleowltree1234

    I can’t imagine anything more devastating than losing a child of your own. Sending prayers and love for Gage’s family. ❤ Love from Rach.

    Like

Leave a Reply

