Whoosh!

It’s that time again.

Time to pick myself up, dust myself off, and realize that our summer mission trip is exactly two months away.  Two months that are going to fly by.  Whoosh!  (Pro Tip: I empower you, reader, to insert your own whoosh sound effect right there.)

Four youth from my two congregations are heading up to the Leech Lake Reservation near Cass Lake, Minnesota, led by me and a brave and wonderful young man with fond memories of his own high school mission trip.

We will paint houses, and weed gardens, and read and play games with kids.  We will meet youth and adults from other congregations, from the reservation, and from the Cass Lake community.  We will learn and talk and sing about Jesus.  We will be so tired.  The good kind of tired.

And, we will need help.  So I will boldly (but blushingly) say: we welcome your prayers, your good wishes, and your financial contributions of any size.  If you would like to help send these four kids on their very first mission trip (and my fearless leader and I on our second / sixth), send your tax-deductible donation here:

First Lutheran Church

P. O. Box 176

Cosmos, MN 56228

This way you help keep the post office in business, too.  And, you get to picture me spinning the P.O. Box lock on Sunday morning, finding your gift in the pile of bills and catalogs and glossy postcards, and doing a happy little post office dance.

Snorkel Chute Curbside Mailbox

Either way, look forward to stories from Cass Lake in just a few months.  They’ll be here before we know it.

4 Comments

Filed under Ministry Matters

4 responses to “Whoosh!

  1. Joy

    I still can’t believe we are taking the same trip one week apart… Crazy! Your post got me excited for our adventure that is 2 months and one week away! Time sure does whoosh by!

    Like

    • I know! I wish we were going the same week, of course! But I will definitely give you any pro tips to be had. It’s going to be a great week for all of us, just not the same week!

      Like

  2. So nice to see another Christian blogger. Congrats on Freshly Pressed!

    Like

Leave a Reply

