Mom’s Mexican Roll Ups

Makeover Mexican Roll-Ups Recipe

A similar recipe can be found many places. For example, at Taste of Home.

This is an appetizer I remember my mom making for parties all the time.  I made it for my book club last week because I thought it would be easy, filling, and (as Mom would say) festive.  And I was right!

Here’s the recipe:

8 oz. cream cheese, softened (I used Neufchatel cheese)

8 oz. sour cream (I used light)

8 oz. grated cheddar cheese (I don’t believe in low-fat cheese)

4 oz. diced green chiles

4 oz. diced black olives

4 oz. diced green onions

2 oz. diced green olives (omitted because Mom always left them out)

burrito-sized flour tortillas

Assembly could hardly be easier: chop what needs chopping, grate what needs grating, mix it all together, spread it on the tortillas, and . . . roll ’em up!  I used eight large tortillas and had enough filling left over for a hearty late night snack (Mike and I spread it on Triscuits, which was totally healthy because of the Neufchatel and light sour cream).

It’s best to make this at least eight hours ahead, then slice them as large or small as you like and arrange on a platter around a bowl of salsa.  (You will probably want to eat the ends, which are more tortilla than filling, yourself.  Or, give them to your hovering child, who will be delighted.)

This recipe makes quite a lot of roll ups, but they do keep pretty well in the fridge.  We ate our fill at book club, and Mike and I have been enjoying them with our meals for the past day or so.  (Zoe even tried a tiny bite, which I count as a success.)

What are the party foods you remember from your childhood?

2 Comments

Filed under Taste and See

2 responses to “Mom’s Mexican Roll Ups

  1. Kirsten

    I LOVE those rolls! Except for the olives. I always leave those out.

    Like

Leave a Reply

