Artichoke Salsa, Any Time

This is the first recipe in my newest cookbook, a collection of recipes by Litchfield Area Hospice volunteers.  It is delicious and very easy.  I am looking forward to finishing it up at lunchtime today.  Make it yourself this week!

2 (6.5 ounce) jars marinated artichoke hearts; drained and chopped

2 Roma tomatoes, chopped (I used grape tomatoes, since the Roma on offer looked gross)

2 T. red onion, chopped (I used about a quarter of an onion)

1/4 cup black olives, chopped

2 T. chopped fresh basil (I tossed in some dry basil instead)

dash salt and pepper

Mix it up.  Serve chilled or at room temperature with tortilla chips.

This has inspired me to make my own salsa this spring and summer, especially once I can get farmer’s market tomatoes.

What’s your favorite salsa recipe?  

6 Comments

Filed under Taste and See

6 responses to “Artichoke Salsa, Any Time

  1. Sue

    Recipe? Who uses recipes for salsa? Tomatoes, peppers, LOTS of garlic, a goodly amount of cilantro, maybe some onion, season with salt and pepper…

    Like

    • Well, that’s like a very general recipe, isn’t it? I just like to have a guideline. And you never know: someone might have a secret or unexpected ingredient . . .

      Like

  2. Kristin

    yum!!! this sounds great! i’ve never thought to put artichokes in salsa before. although, to be honest: i rarely make salsa. Trader Joe’s does such a good job, i hardly see the need!

    Like

    • I had never thought of it, either, and it was really good! In a land without Trader Joe’s, I think homemade salsa should be my new summer hobby.

      Like

  3. EVERYTHING FRESH: Tomatoes, green onions, peppers both green and jalapeno, cilantro, lime juice squeezed from a fresh lime, sea salt and pepper. Measure? Never. Just chop and stir. Or Mango salsa, less fresh tomato and add fresh mango peeled and diced. 😀

    Like

    • YUM. I love fruit salsa (I know, I know, tomato is a fruit, but you know what I mean)! I’m trying to remember if I’ve ever seen mangoes for sale in Litchfield . . .

      Like

Leave a Reply

