Zoe’s Magnificat

Self-portrait.

Zoe is a forward-looking preschooler these days:

“First it will be Emily’s birthday, and then it will be my birthday!”

Mostly, she looks forward to “when I am bigger”:

“When I am bigger, my arm will be bigger, and I will paint like that!”

Interestingly, Zoe also believes that when she is bigger, the people who are big now will be little.  For example, when she is bigger, she will sit in the front seat of the car. I will be little, and I will sit in her car seat.

On Sunday morning, she and Mike had this conversation about it.  (NB: Tuesday Church is the time at preschool when they go into the church to sing songs and listen to Pastor Christian.  Heidi is Zoe’s teacher.)

Zoe: I was talking in church.  In Tuesday Church.  I was talking, and Heidi go, “Shhhhhh.”

Mike: Well, sometimes it’s just not your turn to talk in church.

Zoe: When I get bigger, then I will talk.

Mike: Yes, when you get bigger you can read.

Zoe: When I get bigger, I will talk and Pastor Christian will sit next to Heidi.  I will be on the stage and Pastor Christian will sit next to me and I will have a beautiful dress on.

I think there is something theological about this vision of the future.  If there were a preschool gospel, it would probably be the Gospel according to Luke, which is all about reversal, all about grace and redemption coming from unexpected places.

Check out these verses from the Magnificat (Luke 1:46-55), the song Mary sings about the wonder of being a peasant girl who becomes the mother of God:

He has brought down the powerful from their thrones, and lifted up the lowly;

he has filled the hungry with good things, and sent the rich away empty.

To a not-quite three-year-old, the process of growing up, the transformation from little to big, is just as miraculous.  The tables will turn, though not exactly in the way Zoe imagines.  She will certainly drive me around one day, but no way will I be sitting in her toddler car  seat.

Although, if she’s anything like I was when learned to drive, that five-point harness may actually come in handy.

Less successful self-portrait.

6 Comments

Filed under Preschool Theology, Your Moment of Zoe

6 responses to “Zoe’s Magnificat

  1. Her beautiful dress of the future must be spectacular, since her dress of today already involves gold shoes and beautiful flowers.

    Like

    • I know it! I wish I could see it as she sees it in her mind. She has also decided that she will wear a beautiful dress at her birthday party, and it will be “lellow”. I hope the lellow dress Grandma got her meets her expectations!

      Like

  2. Kristin

    What a lovely post, Maggie! Thank you for it! (And for putting the Holden Evening Prayer version of the Magnificat into my head. You know I love that one. 🙂 )

    Like

  3. purpleowltree1234

    She is Delightful! 🙂
    Love from Rach.

    Like

Leave a Reply

