Books on the Nightstand, Authors on TV

Dear ones, it’s Top Ten Tuesday!  Only, this week, the Broke and the Bookish gave us a challenge that was trickier than they thought: Top Ten Authors You’d Like to See on a Reality Show (and Which Show).  So, they edited the challenge to make it that or a freebie week.

It turns out, freebie weeks are even harder!  So, I’ll give you what I’ve got for the original challenge, and then I’ll tell you what I’ve been reading lately.  Then, click on over to the Broke and the Bookish to see Jamie’s list, and the lists of many other book bloggers.

TV stoffen met plumeau / Dusting the television with a feather-brush

1. Jane Austen, House Hunters.  I would love to see Miss Austen look for a house to beat Pemberly.

2. Ha!  All I came up with was Jane Austen.

So, here’s what’s been on my nightstand this month:

Lots of Agatha Christie.  As you may know, I am reading all her novels in chronological order.  It’s a fun project!  You should try it.  So far, the only one I would skip is The Sittaford Mystery because the ending is not at all satisfying.  I just finished Lord Edgeware Dies, and it was pretty good, although the ending is pretty similar to Peril at End House, the book it immediately follows.

The Fortune Cookie Chronicles: Adventures in the World of Chinese Food by Jennifer 8. Lee. This book is fascinating and fun, but I had to put it down because it made me want to eat Chinese food all the time.  (Pro Tip: This is not a bad thing, but it is not a practical thing, either.)

Evolving in Monkey Town: How a Girl Who Knew All the Answers Learned to Ask the Questions by Rachel Held Evans.  It is a little annoying when 27-year-olds write memoirs, but when they are smart and funny writers like Rachel Held Evans, it’s mostly okay.  I’m just getting started with this one, and so far it’s a winner.

How about you?  Which authors would you like to see on TV?  

And what are you reading lately?

7 Comments

Filed under Book Report

7 responses to “Books on the Nightstand, Authors on TV

  1. Jenny Olsztynski

    I am reading She Walks in Beauty which is a compilation of poetry put together by Caroline Kennedy. I don’t read poetry anymore, but this is quite nice.

    Like

  2. Perhaps because I am going there, but I’ve been reading my way through the mysteries of Jo Nesbo, Norway’s premiere mystery writer. Can’t put them down–delighted to have one on my Kindle for the trip.

    Like

    • Nice! That reminds me, I might actually read a book on my Kindle (I mostly use it for word games, I admit)–a YA novel my library doesn’t have, that looks really fun, was available for 99 cents. Well-played, Amazon. Sold!

      I think it’s so fun to read books that are set in or somehow relate to your vacation destination. Especially when it’s, you know . . . NORWAY. Have a great time!

      Like

  3. I could see Charles Dickens on House Hunters with Jane Austen. They’re both so good at describing intricate places that it would be fun to see and hear their takes on modern homes!

    Like

  4. Jane Austen on house hunters…that’s awesome!

    Like

Leave a Reply

