Out and About on the Interwebs

The good people of The Broke and the Bookish threw us a curve ball this week: a Top Ten Tuesday that is not about books.  Instead, it’s Top Ten Blogs / Websites You Visit That are Not About Books.

Let’s hit it!  I’ll show you mine; you show me yours.

That didn’t come out right, did it?  Read my list, then share a few (or ten) of your favorites in the comments!

1. Bluebird Blvd: “Conjugating the absurd. Daily.” There is so much to love from this writer: poetry, photography, quirky and dazzling five minute dance parties, wise words on being a grown up and funny words on being alive.

2. The Lady Pastor: Of course lady pastors write the finest blogs!  Emily shares great photos, stories of her adventures, and glimpses into her music, her style, and her life.

3. Beauty Tips for Ministers: Speaking of lady pastors . . . This blog helped me so much as a seminary student and new pastor (now I am a veteran at almost three years).  Peacebang’s advice would be good for people in many walks of life.  Plus, she is just really funny and smart.

4. Suburban Snapshots: It’s a mommy blog, sort of.  It’s funny and real and not competitive.  Except that Brenna is also a professional photographer, so the photos she includes are way, way better than the ones I’m able to share.

5. Tom and Lorenzo: A lot of fashion on here, of course, but what I really love are their TV posts.  I started watching Mad Men so that I could enjoy reading what T and Lo have to say about it; I kept watching Project Runway for the same reason.

6. Facebook, of course.  Let’s be honest: I probably spend more time here than anywhere else on the Internet.  It’s where all my friends are!

7. Pinterest.  I finally caved, and now I’m addicted.  Where else can I collect a bunch of adorable ideas for Zoe’s birthday party (that I will probably never actually use)?  It’s aspirational, and I love it.

And, I guess I’m done at seven!  Really, the other websites I spend the most time on are Amazon (where I add things to Zoe’s wishlist) and my library website (where I add things to my online request list).  And those things are . . . books.

Where do you hang out on the interwebs?

Bonus Question: What spooky, scary, nighttime books would you recommend for grades 6 to 8?  Think mysteries, crime, vampires, ghosts, sci-fi.  Help my friend K get her middle schoolers reading this summer!

12 Comments

Filed under Book Report

12 responses to “Out and About on the Interwebs

  1. Checking out Bluebird Blvd. Thanks for the recommendation.

    Like

  2. That first one sounds most interesting!

    As for the bonus question — what about the Hardy Boys? Are they too dated by now?

    Like

  3. Oh, M.! I think my heart is going to pop! Thank you so very much. I’m so glad I know you— you’re upbeat and you have such a “can do” spirit. Such joy and strength! (And you really, really, really made my day!)

    Like

    • Well, you’re so very welcome! I’m glad to know you, too!

      And thanks for advertising another great feature of Bluebird Blvd–warm, heartfelt responses to every single comment!

      Like

      • *Laughs* Why thank you, Maggie! I do appreciate your noticing. I do have my higgledy-piggledy days (read: crabby!) and I do have moments where I want to think before I speak, but I love conversations and people and I love to celebrate happy moments, so…. (I’m blushing a little. I’m grinning a lot.) Thanks again. You are a true gem!

        Like

  4. On the bonus question – Susan Cooper, The Dark is Rising trilogy. Her other books are also good, though may be more upper elementary age rather than middle school. I also love all Dianna Wynne Jones books, which are funny and whimsical, favorites are The Dark Lord of Derkholm and Howl’s Moving Castle.

    Like

  5. I’m a Pinterest addict too. Welcome to the club 🙂

    Like

  6. I love YOUR bloggy-blog, my friend. Thank you for including me. I hope you had a great time in South Dakota!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

