How to Be Brave

View of the grounds at the Vermont state fair, Rutland (LOC)

There are things that scare me, and I am not ashamed to say so.

Roller coasters, for example.  I think they’re scary, and I don’t like them at all, and guess what?  I don’t have to ride them!  Take me on a water ride or a spinning ride any day, and if you ask very nicely I will hold your purse while you ride that terrifying thing.

Then there are things that scare me, and I hide my fear for the sake of my child.

Birds, for example.  Ever since my well-meaning parents invited Steve Budgie (not his real name) and His Budgie Circus to my fifth birthday party, I have had an abiding fear of Birds on the Loose.  (Although, to be honest, I’m not thrilled by large numbers of them in cages, either–my severely bird-fearing friend Kristin and I once ran through the poultry tent at the Wisconsin State Fair in an effort to get to the parking lot.  There may have been shrieking involved.)

So, when the Helpful and Friendly Staff Person at Amaze ‘N Farmyard talked up their new Parakeet Room, I thought, “Well, forget that noise.”  Unfortunately, Zoe thought a roomful of free-flying parakeets sounded like a great idea.  What’s a mother to do?

Take a deep breath.  Take your daughter by the hand.  Enter the roomful o’ wings and feathers and claws.  Try not to shriek when the dinosaur descendants zoom your way.

Be brave, because an irrational fear of house pets is not something you want to pass on to your child.

A quick photo snapped with slightly shaking hands.

What are you afraid of?

2 Comments

Filed under Marvelous Miscellany, Your Moment of Zoe

2 responses to “How to Be Brave

  1. I have a friend with a severe bird phobia as well so you are not alone! Good for you for being so brave and not wanting to pass the bird issue on to your baby! I am afraid I wasn’t so successful with the spider thing!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Bird Feeders: The Awful Truth | Never Done It That Way Before

Leave a Reply

