Good News!

Enjoying her juice on the plane to Chicago.

First of all, since it’s been over a week since my last post: I am not sick, or lost, nor have I been forcibly prevented from writing.

Look!  Already, good news.

Even better news: I haven’t written because I’ve been in Chicago, celebrating sister Claire’s upcoming wedding, hearing my friend Tim preach, eating delicious food, and generally having a grand old time.

And now I’m back, bringing you glad tidings from Chicago and Litchfield!  For example:

Good: Today, the Litchfield farmers’ market is bigger than I have ever seen it.  Local folks, hurry on over for (among many other things) basil, Swiss chard, and the first apples of the season.  (Zestars.  Yum.)

Better: In preparing my Pioneer Woman recipe for our book club’s Pioneer Woman Potluck today, I finally learned a good way to chop basil.  (Pro Tip: If you say “Chiffonade!” in a dramatic voice while chiffonading your basil, it works even better.)

Best: Remember when my dad was diagnosed with kidney cancer and had a big scary surgery to get it out of his body?  (If not, click on the “All in the Family” feature on the left and read all about it.)  He’s been having scans of his lungs every six weeks to monitor the development of some micro nodules there, which the doctor assumed to be cancer, too.  But on Friday, he went for his scan, and . . . the micro nodules were gone!  Vanished.  Poof.

Clearly, I buried the lede on this one.  It’s a stunner.  Good, good, good, good news.

Whether yours falls into the “good”, “better”, or “best” category, I hope you experience some good news today, too.  Feel free to share it with us in the comments!

4 Comments

Filed under All in the Family, Taste and See

4 responses to “Good News!

  1. Praise to Jehovah Rapha!

    Like

  2. Jenny Olsztynski

    The news about your Dad is everyone’s best news!

    Like

  3. So. glad. So. thankful.

    Like

Leave a Reply

