Forgive Me, Readers, for I Have Sinned

Elizabeth Roemer (1929- ), at her desk at the University of California Lick Observatory, c. 1963

Look out, readers.  It’s Top Ten Tuesday Time, and this week’s topic is: Top Ten Bookish Confessions!

You know what to do.  Read my list,  head on over to the Broke and the Bookish to see the confessions of other readers, and leave your own in the comments.

So, here are the top ten things I have done (or failed to do) for the love of books:

1. I have allowed my daughter to watch Dora the Explorer so that I have more time to read.

2. I have kept books past their due date, even when there is a hold on them, so that I can finish reading them.

3. I have spent vacations ignoring the exotic location because I was too engrossed in a book.

4. I have read books at the dinner table.

Woman reading a book

5. I have pretended that I was getting ready in the morning when in fact I was sneaking a few more pages of a book.

6. I have looked forward to commercial breaks for the extra minute of reading time.

7. I have stayed up way past my bedtime to finish a book.

8. I have treasured bookish house guests, because their visits include quiet time for reading.

9. I have checked out more books from the library than it’s possible to finish before the books must be returned.

10. I have put down my own book, turned off Dora, or otherwise dropped everything when my daughter says, “Read to me!”

Hazel Gay

So, spill: What are your bookish confessions?

9 Comments

Filed under Book Report

9 responses to “Forgive Me, Readers, for I Have Sinned

  1. I did not watch the Olympics because I had a couple of really really good 7 day books from the library.

    Like

  2. I have stayed up all night reading and spent the next day exhausted and crabby.

    I do not check out books from the library because I would rather read a book about the theology of disability, the Ancient Church or how to build a backyard chicken garden than a story. The library never has what I am looking for.

    I have more books than bookshelves so they are stacked on every coffee table and in every window sill.

    I still have my out of date, no one would ever want them, but I paid so much for them and moved them all over the US when I was active duty military college nursing texts.

    I am about to move to a smallish farm house and must get rid of some of my treasures and it is giving me a headache.

    I was woken up in the middle of the night for a feeding and when I was done, instead of going to bed I got on Amazon.com and ordered a book that I don’t have room for.

    I bought an e-reader and have books on there I haven’t had time to read and I still sometimes click “Buy now with 1-click.”

    I am currently reading, a commentary on Job by John H. Walton.

    I don’t know if that is 10, but I think I am done confessing.

    Like

    • Great list, Julie! I am very glad that most of the books I want to read can be found at the library. And, I can’t remember if you are in Minnesota or just used to be, but if you’re still here, know that you can request books from any library in the whole state! That might mean that a few more of your books are available that way . . .

      It is so hard to get rid of books! Good luck!

      Like

  3. I am that bookish houseguest and I love bookish or tv watching hosts for allowing it haha. Here’s Ours

    Like

  4. # 2, 7 and 9 are all true of me as well. And my daughter is guilty of #5 every morning. I love this week’s top ten. Great list.

    Like

  5. TrishaDM

    I have done all of these… Except substitute daughter with twin nephews and/or a niece.

    Like

  6. Pingback: Top Ten Top Tens! | Never Done It That Way Before

Leave a Reply

