Top Ten Books to Read This Fall

Can you believe it’s fall?

Time for apples, time for pumpkins, time for backpacks and changing leaves, crickets singing in the evening and swallows perching on the power lines.

And of course . . . time to talk about all the books we’re going to read in this season of mists and mellow fruitlessness!

It’s Top Ten Tuesday, and this week’s topic is pretty straightforward: Top Ten Books on Your TBR (To Be Read) List for Fall.  Read my list, click on over to the Broke and the Bookish to read a bunch more, and share your fall reads with us in the comments.

Here’s my list:

1. True Believers by Kurt Andersen: Technically, I started reading this one over the weekend, but . . . it’s really good.  You all should read it this fall.  Especially if you were a young radical in 1968, so you get the added pleasure of murmuring, “It was really like that!” while you read Karen Hollander’s engrossing story of coming of age in the 60s and confronting her past in 2014.

2.Heyday also by Kurt Andersen: Hey, I’m liking True Believers a lot.  This is the other Andersen novel available from library system, so I’m going to read that one, too!  I am always in the mood for the mid-nineteenth century, especially as I look forward to reading . . .

3.Heartless (The Parasol Protectorate) by Gail Carriger: I am loving this YA series, which is sort of a steampunk Jane Austen / P.G. Wodehouse portrayal of 1870s London.  An alternative history in which vampires, werewolves, and ghosts have been integrated into English society (because how else can you explain the rise of the British empire?).  The heroine is feisty and funny and smart, the supporting characters are delightful, and the stories are compelling.  If you haven’t read this series, please pick up Soulless immediately.  Give it to every teenage girl you know.  Read it yourself, too!

4. Sharp Objects and

5. Dark Places, both by Gillian Flynn: I found her big hit Gone Girl unputdownable and ignored my husband and child so I could finish it.  It was pretty creepy, so I’m sure her first two mystery / thrillers will be perfect for fall thunderstorms and spooky night reading.

6. The A. B. C. Murders: A Hercule Poirot Mystery by Agatha Christie: Remember how I was reading all of Dame Agatha’s novels in order?  Yeah, me neither.  I’m going to get back to that noble task this fall, picking up with another Poirot and Hastings outing.  Should be fun!  And if not, there are more than three decades’ worth of mysteries yet to go.

7. The Dry Grass of August by Anna Jean Mayhew: Our church book club book for September.  I think it will be like The Help, only . . . even more focused on the white character’s coming of age?  I kid because I love: it looks like a good read.

8.  A Year Down Yonder by Richard Peck: I just read and loved the first Grandma Dowdel book, A Long Way from Chicago.  (Thank you, Woman in the Middle, for recommending it!)  I look forward to more funny stories about this fierce and feisty lady.

9.  When You Reach Me and

10. Liar & Spy, both by Rebecca Stead: Two books for middle grade readers, poached from a trusted friend’s GoodReads list.  I look forward to them because they’ve been compared to a few of my favorites, Harriet the Spy and From the Mixed Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler.  Plus, a few quick reads never hurt!

Timken Roller Bearing Co., calendar, September 1950, teacher at desk

Your turn!  What are you reading this fall?  Or, what would you read if you had time?

2 Comments

Filed under Book Report

2 responses to “Top Ten Books to Read This Fall

  1. StephLord

    Maggie, I just bookmarked your blog so that I will no longer be stuck in indecision when facing the library’s ebook collection. Thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

