What I Learned from My Sister’s Wedding

The Big Day has come and gone.  The happy couple is currently on a beach in Hawaii, and the rest of us are back in the real world, where we have to provide our own food and entertainment and wear our regular clothes again.

It was a spectacular weekend.  Here are some things I learned:

1. When “airbrushing and lashes” are included in the price of your professional make-up artist, it does not mean photoshopping and basic mascara.  It means getting your face sprayed with mysterious products and your lashes enhanced with false ones, glued on one by one.  (Pro Tip: I wear glasses because I cannot touch my eyes.  Guess which of these services I did not accept?)

2. You may be riding a bus around Chicago for the fabulous pre-wedding photo shoot, but you will still have to do a bunch of walking in those pretty but punishing shoes.  Wear your flip flops or lean heavily on the arm of the best man.  Do not lean heavily on the bride, who will not be amused when you stumble and nearly knock her to the ground.

3. You will cry.  You will tear up when you see your sister all gowned and veiled for the first time.  You will cry when you hug her before walking down the aisle.  You will cry when you walk down the aisle.  You will cry when she walks down the aisle.  Then, if you’re lucky, you will laugh when your mother’s heel gets impressively tangled in your sister’s cathedral length veil.  This is the stuff memories are made of.

4. In a weekend filled with sweet moments, one of the sweetest is standing in the lobby of the Newberry Library on a crisp September evening, gazing at the smiling, tear-stained faces of aunts and uncles, cousins and friends, and feeling the love and joy that glow as warmly as the candlelight.  (Pro Tip: This is a sentimental family.  What do you expect?)

5. How you know the wedding was a smashing success: the next morning, your three-year-old declares, “I don’t want to go home.  I want to go back to Aunt Claire’s wedding.  I want to be a flower girl two times.”  The praise of a preschooler is truly priceless.

Thanks for getting married, Claire and Doug.  We had a great time!

What are some of your favorite wedding memories?

20 Comments

Filed under Learning Opportunities, Thankful Hearts

20 responses to “What I Learned from My Sister’s Wedding

  1. Liz L.

    Hilarious Zoe, as always. So much fun! can’t blame her.

    Like

  2. Em

    🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 Great post! So glad it was a wonderful time! Maggie – I love your hair!!!!!

    Like

  3. I hadn’t seen the flowers at the front of the church before the wedding. So when I got to the alter and was standing next to my groom I did a quick look around. How do I know? Because on the video as soon as I get to the alter my eyes started darting back and forth like one of those clock cats who eyes and tail move back and forth with each tick. It is one of the funniest things on our wedding video! I have no idea why looking at the flowers required my eyes to dart back and forth like that!

    Like

    • Ha! I love it! I’m sure you thought you were being subtle and sly. My favorite wedding video moment is on the wedding video of a sister of a friend: right before the kiss, the groom clearly mouths, “No tongue!” Classic.

      Like

  4. I got married at St. John’s Lutheran Church in Fairfax, MN on, what I am sure, was the hottest day of the year. I had my Dad take off his suit jacket to walk me down the aisle. He objected. I assured him that in a year, no one would remember if he had his jacket on or not, but if he dropped dead at the front of the church everyone would remember that.

    One of the best things that happened at my wedding was that the photographer gathered everyone on the church steps for a photo. It is the only thing that I would really NEED to have from my wedding — in front of these witnesses.

    Like

    • Great memories, Julie! I wish we had a big group photo like that. And I’m glad we got married on a not-hot day in May. No way would my dad have agreed to remove his jacket!

      Like

  5. Your sister looks gorgeous. I love her flowers.

    Like

    • She was a gorgeous bride (because she is a gorgeous person, of course). The flowers were stunning! I loved the bridesmaid bouquets, too, which you can glimpse in one of these photos.

      Like

  6. Walking down the isle at my sisters wedding to ‘Forest’s Suite’. I love that tune from the film.. It always brings a tear to my eye. 🙂

    Like

  7. Jenny Olsztynski

    My favorite parts of the wedding were the toasts (you are very funny), and the Father/Daughter dance. Janet looked at me and said ‘don’t cry’. But of course, I cried. It was just a wonderful wedding full of love, humor and happiness.

    Like

  8. Was Zoe spreading the goldfish down the aisle?

    Like

  9. Pingback: Revolving Joy | Never Done It That Way Before

  10. Pingback: Advice for a Happy Marriage | Never Done It That Way Before

Leave a Reply

