Thankful

Bringing in the pie.

There is so much to be thankful for this year.

At the top of my list is my family:

My dad, who spent last Thanksgiving in the hospital and will spend this Thanksgiving cooking up a delicious meal for the rest of us.

My sister and her husband, who will host us

My mom, who has a bunch of festive holiday weekend activities planned.

Mike, who is doing dishes as I write this post.

Zoe, who put on her smock backwards and helped dry the dishes and carry in the pie at the Cumings family celebration yesterday.

The extended Cumings clan, who rearranged our pre-Thanksgiving dinner three times to accommodate everyone, mostly us.

So, happy Thanksgiving from Never Done It That Way Before!

If you’re looking for something to do while the turkey cooks, enter the Thanksgiving Caption Contest!  The deadline is tomorrow.  Let’s say 9 AM.

“I want to help!”

Questions, questions: What are you thankful for? What old or new traditions are you savoring this year?  Do you prefer pumpkin pie or pumpkin bread?  

4 Comments

Filed under Thankful Hearts

4 responses to “Thankful

  1. Claire

    I’m thankful for you all traveling down to be with us!! Can’t wait to see you! And, really, must I choose between pumpkin pie and pumpkin bread?? (thankfully, not today) I used to hate pumpkin pie, but now it might be my fave pie. Travel safely and see you soon!!

    Like

  2. Jenny Olsztynski

    We will be savoring homemade noodles cooked in turkey broth. I learned how to make these from my grandmother. They have been passed down through 6 generations of women. My granddaughters will be the 7th generation. Fortunately I no longer roll them put by hand thanks to my Atlas noodle maker which I have been using for 20 years. But I hear that my family is getting me the kitchen aid noodle maker attachment for my birthday. More noodles for them!

    I am so happy your Dad is cooking Thanksgiving this year for all of you!

    Like

    • That sounds wonderful, Jenny! What a great tradition! We all enjoyed the now-traditional Syrian lentils at our Thanksgiving table. And lots and lots of pumpkin desserts!

      Like

Leave a Reply

