Read. Watch. Listen.

It’s Friday! That might not mean much to you. Maybe you’re working this weekend. Maybe you work every weekend. Maybe you’re retired. Maybe you have too much on your To Do List, or maybe your weekend stretches all too empty before you.

Whatever the weekend holds for you, here are a few things I’m loving lately. If you have a few minutes or hours to spare this weekend, check them out:

Read: The Snow Child

It’s 1920 on the Alaskan frontier. During the first snowfall of the season, a lonely and childless couple builds a snow girl. The next day, the snow girl is broken and they glimpse a mysterious child in the woods. Eowyn Ivey riffs on a Russian fairy tale in a way that is gripping and lovely.

This is a a book I am staying up late to read. I’m sneaking a few more pages before the kids wake up. I’m reading “just one more chapter” over lunch. I can’t wait to see how it ends but I don’t want it to end, either. (Pro Tip: the mark of a good read.)

Watch: Stranger Things

It’s E.T. meets Twin Peaks meets Freaks and Geeks. The period details–the clothes, the music, the hair, the phones, everything–are incredible. The plot is creepy and terrifying. Winona Rider is crushing it and the younger actors are outstanding. I go from saying, “This show is so good!” over and over to hyperventilating and watching it between my fingers.

If you aren’t already watching this show, you must. Full Stop.

Listen: This American Life

I know. You’re already listening to This American Life. But are you using their app to do it?

Okay. Maybe you’re already doing that, too. A year and a half into life as a smart phone user, I finally took the plunge and actually paid money for an app. (What can I say? I am oddly thrifty at times.) The TAL app saved my life–or at least my sanity–on my recent Illinois road trip. I laughed, I cried, I turned the volume down when I realized the app gives you the “non-bleeped” version of the show.

This weekend .. .

. . . includes officiating at a wedding, participating in an ordination service, preaching and leading worship, and exploring all that the Butterfield Threshing Bee has to offer. So I don’t see hours of This American Life in my immediate future, but I do see the last three episodes of Stranger Things and, I hope, the rest of The Snow Child. 

TGIF!


What are you reading / watching / listening to lately?

What are you up to this weekend?

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Report, Read. Watch. Listen., TV

Leave a Reply

