How to Take a Tropical Vacation without Leaving Home

A fashion model in swimsuit poses at Matheson Hammock Park beach: Miami, Florida

Three words: buy a lime.

Or, if you’re feeling decadent, buy two or three or ten.

Usually, I just use my bottle of lime juice when a recipe calls for lime, but when I made carrots and broccoli with lime dressing for my book club last month, I decided to go for the real deal.

Holy buckets.  I sliced the lime in half and it was like I was in Mexico, sitting on the beach or in the shade of an outdoor cafe.  I sat there inhaling that limey goodness for longer than is probably normal.

Florida Citrus Queen LaVoyce Leggett and Mayor William Dickinson With a Box of Limes at the Dade County Agricultural Fair: Homestead, Florida

A few weeks later, I bought two more limes.  One I drizzled over some jicama (Pro Tip: It is exciting that Econofoods now sells jicama, but so far the jicama itself leaves something to be desired).  The other I sliced and added to Diet Coke.

I know.  This is not revolutionary.  But it is a tropical treat that I had forgotten about.  So, in case you, too, have forgotten about the wonder of limes, this post is for you.

And also for you: the recipe for carrots and broccoli with lime dressing.  It was not as lime-tastic as I hoped, but since I didn’t actually measure to see if the “juice of one lime” was the right number of tablespoons, I don’t know if the fault is mine or the recipe’s.

Broccoli and Carrots with Lime Dressing

2 carrots, thinly sliced on the diagonal

3 stalks broccoli, heads cut into florets, stalks peeled and sliced on the diagonal

Dressing: 1 T. dark sesame oil (I used whatever sesame oil they had at the co-op, but spotted some at Econo the next week), 1 T. soy sauce, 2 tsp. honey, 3 T. fresh lime juice (about one lime), salt and pepper, dash of chili oil, Tabasco, or other hot pepper sauce (optional, but why the heck not?)

Bring about two inches of water to a rapid boil in a covered pot.  When the water boils, add the vegetables, cover, and simmer for about five minutes, until tender but firm (like a good parent).

While the vegetables cook, mix together all of the dressing ingredients.

Drain the vegetables, plunge them into cold water, drain again, and chill until ready to serve.  Or, serve at room temperature.

Just before serving, toss the vegetables with the dressing.

Eat it all up, because this dish was tasty but did not make very tasty leftovers.

One more lime treat to make your Monday feel tropical: the Muppets version of “Put the Lime in the Coconut” (thanks, YouTube, for alerting me to its existence):

What’s your favorite lime treat?

Or, how do you get that vacation feeling while still going to work?

9 Comments

Filed under Taste and See

9 responses to “How to Take a Tropical Vacation without Leaving Home

  1. Jen Kiefer

    Key lime pie!

    Like

    • Jen Kiefer

      Also, to feel like I’m on vacation without going anywhere, my favorite thing to do is put on some beachy music (jimmy buffett, kenny chesney, etc), fire up the grill and make a meal that includes seafood of some sort. I usually accompany this with a margarita for extra vacation-esque feel.

      Like

    • YUM. I have never made it, but I sure do enjoy eating it!

      Like

  2. My flipper ache is relieved – thanks for Kermit on a Monday.

    Like

  3. Maybe when I’m not such a good parent it’s because I failed to remember to simmer for 5 minutes first. Thanks, Maggie, got a good chuckle from you this morning!

    Like

    • I definitely felt that way today, Jan! So many questions in such rapid succession, and you know what? I don’t know who painted that truck blue, and I don’t know who turned off the music at the high school track. I guess I should treasure the years that she thinks I do have all the answers.

      And I always treasure the chance to make you laugh!

      Like

  4. Pingback: Simple Supper: Sesame Noodles | Never Done It That Way Before

Leave a comment